Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Installation problem on Redhat linux (Permission denied)

Status
Not open for further replies.

amir88

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
118
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
bandarabbas
Activity points
1,926
I'm trying to install Cadence Ic6.10 on Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5.4 Distribtion. The problem is here that when I run /.SETUP.SH I got the following error:
"bash: ./SETUP.SH: /bin/sh: bad interpreter: Permission denied
."
What's the problem?
This is my first experience of trying to install an application on Linux OS.
Thanks.
 

bluehole

Full Member level 6
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
345
Helped
74
Reputation
148
Reaction score
73
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Some where In INDIA
Activity points
3,290
hxxp://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/bin-sh-bad-interpreter-permission-denied-392740/

Has some answers which are similar to your situation.

Please see the reasons specified and rectify accordingly.

Hope it helps.
 

bluehole

Full Member level 6
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
345
Helped
74
Reputation
148
Reaction score
73
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Some where In INDIA
Activity points
3,290
Dose SE-Linux complain while installing???

---------- Post added at 04:49 ---------- Previous post was at 04:47 ----------

are you installing from Runlevel-5( graphical) or runlevel 1,3 ???
 

amir88

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
118
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
bandarabbas
Activity points
1,926
I tried from runlevel 5 with no error and no installation run. but when I tried it from terminal i got the "bash: ./SETUP.SH: /bin/sh: bad interpreter: Permission denied." error messgae.
 

bluehole

Full Member level 6
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
345
Helped
74
Reputation
148
Reaction score
73
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Some where In INDIA
Activity points
3,290
I assume you are installing from GNOME terminal.
1) be come superuser
2) run the script using sh ./SETUP.SH

I guess it will work.
 

yonehara

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
24
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,532
yes, be come a super user and try it again. If does not solve your problem i think its a system configuration crashed. Maybe you will need reinstall your system.
 

amir88

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
118
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
bandarabbas
Activity points
1,926
I became root and then tried to install it. I reinstall it and let you know the answer.
thanks
 

CD-RW

Newbie level 2
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,304
Maybe you don't have execute permisions set for this file?

In a terminal window as root try typing this:

#ls -l

Your file permisions should be something like
-rw------- 1 root root 921 Dec 6 17:59 anaconda-ks.cfg
-rw------- 1 root root 1571 Dec 6 17:59 Centos5-5.ks-log
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Dec 9 19:05 Desktop
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Feb 7 12:25 eagle

To set a files permissions to execute the file, as root user do:

#chmod 777 filename

Then try and run the script again.

HTH :)

---------- Post added at 19:38 ---------- Previous post was at 19:30 ----------

You might find it helps to install the program called mc - Midnight Commander.

As root user do:

#yum info mc

then

#yum install mc

Then you can open a terminal window as root user, and run the command mc as root user.

There are alot of commands you can then access from mc drop down windows.



---------- Post added at 20:44 ---------- Previous post was at 19:38 ----------

The other thing it might be is this.

On Centos 5.5, (which is a clone of RHEL,) there is a soft link (symlink) from the directory /bin/sh to the bash shell command interpreter:

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4 Dec 6 17:31 sh -> bash

You might not have this link in your /bin directory.

If you open the script SETUP.SH in a text editor, you can check the first line for something like this:

#! /bin/sh

That first line points to the command interpreter that should run your SETUP.SH script.

Find out where bash is on your system, and edit the first line of your SETUP.SH script to point to bash.

Something like this should do:
#! /bin/bash

mc has a find file function built in, under F9->Command->Find file

An easier way to find a file is with the 'which' command, like this:

[root]# which bash
/bin/bash

that gives you the full path to the file, which in this case is the bash interpreter, a successor of the sh shell.

To see what commands are available on your system, for example, type whi then press the TAB key quickly TWICE:

Code:
[root]# whi
which     while     whiptail

[root]# mk
mkafmmap         mkfontdir        mkinitrd         mktemp
mkbootdisk       mkfontscale      mkisofs          mktexfmt
mk_cmds          mkfs             mklost+found     mktexlsr
mkdict           mkfs.cramfs      mkmanifest       mktexmf
mkdir            mkfs.ext2        mknod            mktexpk
mkdirhier        mkfs.ext3        mkocp            mktextfm
mkdosfs          mkfs.msdos       mkofm            mkudffs
mkdumprd         mkfs.vfat        mkrfc2734        mk_verilog_syms
mke2fs           mkhtmlindex      mksmbpasswd.sh   mkxauth
mkfastmod        mkhybrid         mksock           mkzftree
mkfifo           mkindex          mkswap

HTH :)
 

amir88

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
118
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
bandarabbas
Activity points
1,926
Thank you CD-RW but I reinstall it and now my problem is the following error:

Extracting InstallScape version
for platform lnx86 in /home/amir/iscape1
./SETUP.SH: line 814: uncompress: command not found


Starting up InstallScape in GUI mode

DISPLAY environment variable is set to :0.0

If you do not see the InstallScape console
window or the it seems to be hanging then kill this
process.

Set your DISPLAY environment variable to a proper
value and manually start InstallScape by typing:
/home/amir/iscape1/iscape/bin/iscape.sh /home/amir/Cadence_IC610/IC610_lnx86.Base/CDROM1:::/home/amir/ei

/bin/sh: /home/amir/iscape1/iscape/bin/iscape.sh: No such file or directory

By the way, I 've installed gzip.

Thanks
 
Last edited:

saif haider

Full Member level 1
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
97
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
1,917
try to use other shells. else there must be problem with ur installation kit
 

yonehara

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
24
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,532
Try the CD-RW suggestion. By the ls -lah command check the permissions to the file. Use chmod command to modify the permission using 777. Tri it again. Your installation kit can be the problem, but reinstall it again is the last resource. Verify if there are libs missing, kernel updates and another issues to solve. Try to run an update in the system.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top