Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Initializing Xilinx BRAM with image pixels

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taki_comp

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
37
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,568
Hi,

I would like to initialize Xilinx BRAM (ROM) with image pixels, any ideas ?

cheers,
 

ads-ee

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
7,860
Helped
1,817
Reputation
3,644
Reaction score
1,782
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
59,415
Maybe you should read the Xilinx documentation, it states clearly how to initialize the content of a ROM using the block memory generator. Look for PG058.

If I read it and then post the relevant information, it just means next time you won't read the documentation and will keep posting questions clearly answered in the documentation.

You know Xilinx includes a program called Xilinx Documentation Navigator (installed by default), which makes it really really easy to search all their documentation for stuff you may have questions about.
 

Taki_comp

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
37
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,568
Thank you for your help, but please next time don't lecture me.
 

Taki_comp

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
37
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,568
My question here: is there anyway to convert an image file into coe file ?
 

filip.amator

Full Member level 3
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
176
Helped
35
Reputation
70
Reaction score
34
Trophy points
28
Activity points
1,047
My question here: is there anyway to convert an image file into coe file ?

Yes it is. You have to write a program in your favorite language for converting bitmap into coe file. I did one for png to mif conversion.
 

Taki_comp

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
37
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,568
Let's say I use matlab, how can I do that ?
 

Taki_comp

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
37
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,568
I already did the first two steps, for the last step I tried to display the values of the matrix in the command window but I can only display correctly few rows at a time correctly,I was wondering what may cause this problem ?
 

fouwad

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
199
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
17
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
2,466
use .coe file to initialize your memory ROM at startup
 

Taki_comp

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
37
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,568
Thank you all for you replies, I solved the problem
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top