Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

in linux. how to compile a file?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robertt

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
31
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,634
Thanks, I am following an instruction to config some files. It require me to "compile" a file? How?

Thanks a lot
 

jimjim2k

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
May 17, 2001
Messages
996
Helped
23
Reputation
46
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
7,199
Hi

For most packages
First seek for a file like .configure and try ./configure
or
./configure --help

For a single file like mytest.c
gcc -o mytest mytest.c

tnx
 

Robertt

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
31
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,634
hey,

I just need to compile a single file, bar in NCSU's CDK

I entered gcc -o bar bar.c

but "commond not found"

what's the reason?

I use SUSE 9.0 Pro Linux
 

mobile-it

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Apr 24, 2004
Messages
467
Helped
22
Reputation
44
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,344
When you installed your linux version did you mention you would like to install the gcc compiler too? (Check if your gcc compiler is installed)
 

jimjim2k

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
May 17, 2001
Messages
996
Helped
23
Reputation
46
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
7,199
Robertt said:
hey,

I just need to compile a single file, bar in NCSU's CDK

I entered gcc -o bar bar.c

but "commond not found"

what's the reason?

I use SUSE 9.0 Pro Linux


hi

1. you must have installed gcc to run it.
2. sometimes gcc may be invoked via cc or g++ commands try them too.


tnx
 

4MD

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,335
I think that any software have a help. to help user using software easy.
 

bamdad

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 14, 2001
Messages
116
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,303
about the redhat clones (the SUSE, mandrake, and other SVR4.2 linuces around) gcc is not an optional package, it is in the base set, and is installed anyway. maybe it is aliased as "cc" or something like that, or maybe it is not in the path... or maybe they're using egcs...
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top