Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

In HFSS, how to set the size of a lumped port?

Status
Not open for further replies.

waltzsu

Newbie level 6
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
13
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,364
hfss lumped port

A lumped port can be assigned to a rectangle. Does the size of the rectangle affect the simulation results? Should it be as small as possible?
 

nhomuathu_hanoi

Full Member level 1
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Messages
95
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Hometown
Activity points
1,790
sizing lumped port in hfss

Hi waltzsu,

You can refer to following link and find the attachments name: "HFSS_full_book_v10" and "Port_tutorial"



They will tell you how to define a lumped port and size of the port.

Hope it helps you
 

waltzsu

Newbie level 6
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
13
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,364
lumped port

Thank you very much. I have downloaded the port tutorial. It is helpful. But I did not have enough points to download the full book. :cry:
anyway, Thank you very much.
 

waltzsu

Newbie level 6
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
13
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,364
deembed hfss

thank you so much.
 

maxwellian

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 22, 2005
Messages
145
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,165
when to use lumped port

waltzu:

The larger the rectangle, the bigger the electromagnetic discontinuity to your lumped port. The key is that the lumped port is on an ideal wire that connects one metal body to another body or PEC boundary condition. So you will always have that discontinuity as current flows from the big body down to the connection point of the ideal wire.

There is no way to calibrate out, or de-embed that discontinuity in HFSS. So the technique works well as long as your frequency is low enough so that the discontinuity doesn't throw your simulation results.

--Max
 

akedar

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jul 27, 2004
Messages
250
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
14
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,180
size lumped port

in hfss size doesnt matter because lumped port just define the type of excitation....b/w the ports so not to worry abt the size
 

borich_03

Full Member level 2
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
142
Helped
20
Reputation
42
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,148
hfss deembed

akedar said:
in hfss size doesnt matter because lumped port just define the type of excitation....b/w the ports so not to worry abt the size
I'm agree fully.
Also, with the Lumped Port you can execute one-mode simulation only.
 

maxwellian

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 22, 2005
Messages
145
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,165
what are lumped ports

akedar said:
in hfss size doesnt matter because lumped port just define the type of excitation....b/w the ports so not to worry abt the size

akedar:

Your statement really depends on your application. If you want an excitation for a small body at low frequency, then I would agree that the error introduced by using a lumped port is small enough that it can be neglected for practical purposes.

But for most practical microwave design, I believe this is not true.

For example, try taking a 50 ohm transmission line on 100 um GaAs substrate. Simulate this example as a reference result.
Next, slice a 100um long section from the middle, and put a lumped port on each side of your gap. Simulate this example (1 waveport on each end, and then the 2 lumped ports in the middle). Simulate a 100um section of the transmission line in another example (you will need to use reference planes from the larger original problem so that you don't get your waveports too close together).
Cascade the results of your 100um transmission line with the lumped ports from the 4-port example, so you get a model that should be equivalent to the longer, non-segmented transmission line.

This example is similar to the case on an IC where you want to simulate circuitry on both sides of the transistor.

I think you will agree that lumped ports do indeed have limitations if you use them in situations where the error that they contribute to the problem negates their value in modeling.

--Max
 

cr_skyworks

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Aug 4, 2006
Messages
28
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,450
hfss lump port

If the size of the lumped size is too big, you may have to change the dimension of the simulated structure in order to leave the space to the port. In this case, the size of the lumped size does matter.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top