Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

In circuit bios programmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

sawwa7

Full Member level 6
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
331
Helped
63
Reputation
126
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,675
bios programmer

hi all
i have a mother board gigabyte that uses a bios chip 29ee020-120-4c-nh
a producto of sst and some one tried to flash it using a wrong software and the bios chip faild to start up . i can't access it any more and need any in circuit programmer and adapter to reprogram the this bios again and reuse the board .
is that possible and how can i do it ?
what programmer circuits or adapters that may help me doing this?
any link or hint will be greatly appreciated
best regards
 

Cortex

Full Member level 3
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
182
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Morocco
Activity points
2,733
bios programer

check if your Motherboard Support Emergency REcovry
(With Floopydisk)
 

sawwa7

Full Member level 6
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
331
Helped
63
Reputation
126
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,675
bios programmer circuit

hi Cortex
i'm sorry , but what do u mean by Emergency Recovry ?
the motherboard didn't start at all and no on screen display to use any flash software even with using ISA VGA card .
if u can tell me about this Emergency Recovry technique i'd be greatly appreciate that and will give a try , then tell u
if u do have any simple in circuit programmer that may help rewriting the software (bin file) to the bios it would be of great help for me and others .
thanks
best regards
 

eggplant

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
15
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,476
ezoflash

some boards come with a recovery floppy or a cd with a utility to make a recovery floppy, however, even with these special recovery tools, recovery is not always possible after an incorrect flash. There MAY be a way around it if you have access to an identical bios chip that is working, however it shuold ony be used as a very last resort, and only applies to bios chips that can be physically removed from the board:

remove working bios from working board
place in board with broken bios chip
power on and boot from a disk with a CORRECT bios flash and utility
hot swap the bios chip for the broken one
flash it
reboot

I have used this method in the past when I used to customize my bios chips, it does work, but failing that, I wouldnt hold out much hope, sorry.
 

sawwa7

Full Member level 6
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
331
Helped
63
Reputation
126
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,675
plcc programmer schematics

hi eggplant
thank u for replying and trying help , i don't have this utility and i do know the swap method u explained here , but my chip is pga and soldered on the board and no way to remove it without damage and also needs a socket and much work wich is not easy to manage .. that's why i'm searching in circuit programmer that may help solving this problem.
Regards
 

Cortex

Full Member level 3
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
182
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Morocco
Activity points
2,733
plcc programmer schematic

Ami Bios and Award have a Emergency System
that Allow you to Reflash the Motherboard also after bad Flashing

i don't remember well but u press a Sequence in the keyboard and u power on the pc
u must insert a Disc in the floppy disck (bootable (prompt only with a autoexec.bat that must run the flashing utility))
nothing is displayed in the Screen, the pc restart after a long beep.

some new mother board have Dual Bios so u can restore from one to other with another sequence
just try to search in your MB manual and manufacturer site.

i think the recovry that i used was for a MSI MB
check in MSI.COM.TW

i hope it the same solution

regards
 

silvio

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
716
Helped
105
Reputation
210
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Romania
Activity points
11,470
make a plcc programmer

What GygaByte motherboard do you have ? New models have Dual Bios.

What flash utility did you use ? For AMIBios, Award, Phoenix ?

sst.gif


Sad to hear that it's soldered into motherboard. Because it's PLCC package it should be better to use a socket. Well, manufacturer's choice.

As far as I know you can't use an external programmer with the chip sitting in the motherboard even if you hold the microprocessor bus on hold. If you're unable to program with recovery flash utility, the only solution is to remove it from motherboard with a hot air gun.
 

Cortex

Full Member level 3
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
182
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Morocco
Activity points
2,733
programmer for bios

i know that it not recommanded to programme a MCU/EEPROM/etc when it still in board
exept if it ISP compatible
 

eggplant

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
15
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,476
simple bios programmer

I cant see how you would program it anyway, even if you had the original code for it.
Unfortunatley, IMO it looks like you may be going shopping.
 

sawwa7

Full Member level 6
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
331
Helped
63
Reputation
126
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,675
dual bios circuit

hi all
well , this is a gigabyte GA-BX2000 Motherboard ( dual bios) , the problem is the main bios and the backup bios were both flashed with error version and the mother board become completely dead .
i didn't try to use the recovery methode before , but tried to use an ISA VGA card hoping to flah it again using the right version but this didn't work .
i've asked in my country if they can reprogram this plcc chips but got the answer NO !!
i beleive it's a microcontroller chip that could be reprogrammed again .. may be i'm wrong .. so i've cut the main bios chip legs and cleaned the rest using my soldering iron and will get a socket for this plcc chip and will resoder it in place of the main bios chip , will buy a new blank chip .. this is the last thing i'm thinking about and just ask to know if i can go on or get the board into trash ?
can i use any simple programmer to download the bin file into a blank chip ?
if the answer is yes .. can u please give me a simple programmer that enable me to download the software bin file to the chip?
i'm not into microcontroller programming industry and all i've done before is using the 24cxx simple eprom programmers for TVs and Monitor Repairs .
this is the problem and if u can help me solve it .. i'd appreciate that and if it's unsolvable .. just tell me to trash this board
Best Regards
 

silvio

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
716
Helped
105
Reputation
210
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Romania
Activity points
11,470

    sawwa7

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

FoxyRick

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
1,249
Helped
321
Reputation
640
Reaction score
277
Trophy points
1,363
Location
England, UK
Activity points
12,978
bios programator

Hi sawwa7,

My Galep programmer can program the chip, but I don't have a PLCC adapter, only a DIP socket. Any decent programmer should be able to do this, especially if you make a simple adapter from the PLCC to DIP. I think it's a 1-to-1 pin connection, but you might check the datasheet to make sure:

https://www.sst.com/downloads/datasheet/S71062.pdf

I don't mind programming it for you if you make the adapter and pay the return postage, what that costs depends where you are. I'm in the UK.

You should be able to come up with something locally though.

Cheers,
FoxyRick.
 

donkey41

Full Member level 1
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Messages
99
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
949
build a bios programmer

hi,

i have almost the same situation .. with the same company, the GIGABYTE, but i've gotten a solution for a new pre programmed BIOS.. the only problem is, how shall i take the chip away from the motherboard ?
i have seen some some ribbon-type wire for SMDs, made of nacked thin copper wires in conrad, but i am not sure how to use them for SMDs to desold them.

i'll certainly sold a socket on the board later .. but firs i need to take it away from the board.

anyidea ?
 

sawwa7

Full Member level 6
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
331
Helped
63
Reputation
126
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,675
bios chip programmer circuit

hi FoxyRick
thanks for trying help , i already have the data sheet and easy to build an adapter for plcc socket .. but u r very far away from me .if u can help me find a schematic for a programmer that can program this chip it'd be greatly appreciated .
best regards
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top