Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Impedance matching problem between LNA and Mixer

Status
Not open for further replies.

jutlwj

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi I am new with RF and I am trying to do impedance matching between LNA (BGA2001)and Mixer (MAX2112). The output reflection coefficient ΓL=0.5348∠70.8°. The characteristic impedance Z0 of PCB is 50 Ohm. The input impedance of MAX2112 is 75 Ohm. My question is should I use one LC network to match directly from ΓL to 75 Ohm, or should I use one LC network to match ΓL to 50 Ohm, then use another LC network to match 50 Ohm to 75 Ohm? Thank you!

you do not tell us how long the interconnecting transmission line is, nor how much amplitude ripple you can live with over a bandwidth.

If they are really close, just hook one to the other. If they are far apart, you could add a series resistor at the mixer, and run 75 ohm line.

if it is narrowband, you could just run 50 ohm line from the lna, and then do a L-C matching network at the mixer. alternatively, if you have the room on the board, you could do a quarterwave transmission line transformer with a characteristic impedance Zt=√(50 * 75)

LNA_Mixer_Impedance_Matching.png

Hi biff44,

Thank you for your reply. The interconnecting transmission line is about 1.5cm. The working frequency is from 1.2 GHz to 1.6 GHz and the wavelength is about 12 cm. In fact my whole design process is this:

1) I choose a optimum source reflection coefficient Γs=0.3165∠83° on Smith Chart for LNA based on the equal gain circle and equal noise figure to get the ideal gain and noise figure.