Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I'm trying to put an ultrasonic cleaner together and need advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZackDillon

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello!
Let me start by saying I'm not experienced in the world of electronics. I know just enough to be dangerous.

Some time ago I bought a used, not working 40KHz ultrasonic cleaner for next to nothing (1st picture) The generator PCB inside the unit is made by Crest. I replaced all the components that were obviously burned up (3 IC's and about 7 Transistors) . To make a long and irritating story short, it fried immediately when I put power to it. I would like to revisit fixing the original generator in the future (with a lot of help from you folks).

In the mean time I've (on a whim) purchased a used generator on eBay and I'm now awaiting it's arrival. See pics 2, 3 and 4.
I have searched the internet hi and low for ANY information on this generator and have come up with nothing.

My plan\dream is to use this generator to drive the tank I have. I've removed the dead PCB and left the wiring that controls the heater for the tank. The tank has 4, 40KHz transducers (picture 4)with separate leads and a common ground wire.
I know I can destroy my new (to me) generator by running it without a load, or by wiring it to the transducers incorrectly.
My questions are, is anyone familiar with this generator and could shed some light on its specs? I'm pretty sure it's powerful enough to fry my transducers if it were run at full power.