Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Identifying this potentiometer

Status
Not open for further replies.

seamrog

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi Folks,
I'm a newbie here, long time lurker first time poster.. and am repairing an intercom with a probable faulty potentiometer that is used to adjust the speaker volume.

The potentiometer I'm replacing is a Piher horizontally mounted one with the number 5K529M written on the side of it. This leads me to think that it is a 5K ohm potentiometer. Does anybody know what the 529M part is about? I've googled the number of course but no joy. I'm concerned that because these potentiometers come with different numbers on them that they may be different specs.

Attachments

• IMG_0200.JPG
    IMG_0200.JPG
    204.5 KB · Views: 99
  • IMG_0206.JPG
    IMG_0206.JPG
    308.9 KB · Views: 78

I presume, the potemtiometers are operated by put-on knobs not shown in the photo? In this case, you should check (by intelligent use of a multimeter) if the potentiomters have possibly a log characteristic. But standard linear PT-15 would be my first guess.

What makes you think the potentiomters are defective?

Cheers for that tpestar, sure are a lot of variations! Now I'll try and figure out how those numbers I have relate to the part number for ordering.

- - - Updated - - -

I presume, the potemtiometers are operated by put-on knobs not shown in the photo? In this case, you should check (by intelligent use of a multimeter) if the potentiomters have possibly a log characteristic. But standard linear PT-15 would be my first guess.