Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Identify SMD Capacitor

Status
Not open for further replies.

afedericojr

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Good day,

I am not an electronic engineer, but I am trying to fix my Roland TD10 drum module. I just got it used, and after three hours of playing, I smelled the typical leaky capacitor smell, and sure enough, about 5 minutes later, the kick drum started distorting. I let it cool down, and it worked again for a while, but then the kick cut out completely. Now after rest, it plays for about 10 to 20 minutes and then gets distorted. I thought it would have an easy to identify capacitor with a leaky bulged top as was on other things I have replaced (e.g. PC motherboards, TV's, etc). What I found is seen below. A 10uf 25v aluminum electrolytic SMD capacitor, with only slight swelling, and I want to say it is a panasonic because of how it looks, but I need to be sure, since I don't know what the 08 means. Can someone please help me?

IMG_0116.jpg

dear
can you post the complete number written on the capacitor.
smd writing on capacitor is 105== 1uF
106== 10uF etc

From the picture it appears that the two electrolytic capacitors bellow the arrow need replacing. they are both 10uF 25V type and you should use 105 centigrade type ones.

Thank you both. I questioned if the 08 was some indicator of tolerance or operating temperature...or if it was a multiplication factor of .01, but I thought that was only for pf.

For convenience for others, the numbers displayed on the two caps are in three rows:
25v