Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

ICD2 technical question!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tyro

Newbie level 5
Joined
May 11, 2004
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
92
icd2 mc34063a

I have built ICD2 from http://www.mcu.cz/atm/index.php?PHP...e19f&direction=0&order=&directory=ICD2Project

Now MPLAB can connect to it and Vdd voltage is right, but Vpp voltage is ~8V.

When I measure at the mc34063 dip ic, my voltmeter tells me there are only ~8V on the output where it normally must have 13V.

The second thing is: The first time I connected ICD2 to voltage, the DG411DY IC got very very hot and finally smoked away.
I found out that PIN 10 and 11 put 13V and GND over an internal MOSFET together. But only when PIC16F877 output RC2 is low. Now I have bend the 2 pins up.

DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT IS WRONG IN MY ICD2 CLONE from MCU.CZ????

Thanks
 

tyro

Newbie level 5
Joined
May 11, 2004
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
92
mc34063 tips

WHAT??? I know!

Could you stop posting such senseless sh** like this message above!

Thanks a lot
 

Cluricaun

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Sep 28, 2001
Messages
627
Helped
17
Reputation
34
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,315
Hi

FIrst of all I must say that I haven't build ICD2 so I can
only guide you here.

Have you read this, and made changes?
https://www.edaboard.com/viewtopic.php?t=70755&highlight=icd2

Check for shortcuts to/near the DG411, if you have you
might have damaged the MC34063. When verified the
PCB check the component values for the MC, like C R
and L if you can replace the MC aswell.

It wont help you now but might be usefull some other time.
hxxp://www.nomad.ee/micros/mc34063a/index.shtml

If you need more help try to giv more info like voltages at
the different pins of MC, if you have a oscilloscope you can
verify waveform with that.

Next time try to post in already available topic for ICD2,
easier for people to search and help you then.
Perhaps better if you repost your question in ICD2 topic
and remove your post here.

Good luck Cl
 

tyro

Newbie level 5
Joined
May 11, 2004
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
92
OHHH Thank you. Thank you. I think that MC34063 tool helps me a lot. Thanks for your tips. The changes on the PCB I have already made. The MC34... I have changed, also the DG411. Ive pulled up pin 9,10.

I think its because PIC16F877 pin RC2 pulls voltage down, so these two pins are put together from the internal mosfet. I dont know why PIC acts so. The right firmware is on.

On the MC34...output after L4, where it normally must be 13V, I have ~8V.
The ~8V are also on RSTTarget on Target output.

Now I will check the measure inputs for voltages 13V, ResetTarget,VccTarget also.

When connecting to MPLAB, it tells me, selftest is wrong because Vpp voltages internal and target are too low. Vcc voltages are OK (PASS).

Lets see. :))

Thanks!
 

tyro

Newbie level 5
Joined
May 11, 2004
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
92
So now my voltage of 13V is ok. I have connected an external voltage regulator. I am wating for my order of some MC34063A. Then I will try with the new ones. The DG411 pins 10,11 are still pulled up. Yesterday I looked for shortcuts round the IC, found nothing, put them down and soldered them. Connected the ICD2 to power and multimeter says 1.1 A current. Quickly I took away power. The DG411 was already very hot.

To be continued...
 

Cluricaun

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Sep 28, 2001
Messages
627
Helped
17
Reputation
34
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,315
I have no explanation right now, but pin 10 should be connected to ground and pin 11 14 7 3

Silly question, but have you checked orientation of Caps and ICs?
Shorted at J3, Rst Target and Vcc Target
?
Wait to connect the new MC until you found the cause :)

Cl
 

tyro

Newbie level 5
Joined
May 11, 2004
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
92
Yes, Ive checked everything. But pin 10 on 11 is only to ground the RstTarget line, I think. So I read it out the shematic.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top