Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

IC610 does not take CDB files

Status
Not open for further replies.

erictmt

Newbie level 5
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
112
cdb to oa

Hi, I've set up IC610 on CentOS4.4 platform. It works pretty well. But my files from the older versions are all in CDB format. It seems that I need to transform all these files into OA format. I'm wondering if I can still use CDB files to work in IC610 because I don't want to spend a lot of time in file transformation.

Thanks
 

_TopGun_

Member level 4
Joined
Aug 20, 2005
Messages
75
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Zelenograd, Russian Federation
Activity points
1,696
oa cdb

I've got the same problem.
I use IC 6.10 on SuSE Linux 10.0. And all my files in old (CDB) format.

I'm still looking for a tool, but looks like there is no such tool.
I'm going to use translation tool, IMHO there's no other way.
 

eins99

Full Member level 1
Joined
Jan 4, 2003
Messages
98
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,159
cadence cdb to oa

There is an utility in IC610 - cdb2oa, under(IC610/tools.lnx86/dfII/bin/cdb2oa/).
This program can translate CDBA technology library to OA.
 

gliss

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Apr 22, 2005
Messages
692
Helped
75
Reputation
150
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,892
ic610 cdb oa

There is no way to use CDB data on IC 6 without translation. This new release is OA only.
 

sc266

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Aug 5, 2005
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,461
calibre oa cdb cadence

Guys

Would you please share the installation of IC610 on suse

Thanks
 

tsinghua

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Messages
222
Helped
23
Reputation
46
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,111
cdb file cadence

OA is the trend. Cadence will stop supporting CDB once most of the foundries provide OA based PDK or CDK.
I am still using IC5141 as the foundry only provide CDB based PDK.
There is no IC release which can handle both CDB and OA.
 

edacw1

Full Member level 4
Joined
Mar 7, 2004
Messages
221
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,187
cadence oa cdb compatibility

Yes. IC610 can only support OA base.
 

sc266

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Aug 5, 2005
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,461
cdb in oa

Guys,

Is there any way to open *.cdb file for code editing (change name and view type...)?
Thanks
 

onandon

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Korea
Activity points
1,370
changing from cdb to oa

Hi,

I tried to convert tsmc018rf from CDB to OA. But, after converting, I found rfnmos2v, rfpmos2v, nmos2v and pmos2v miss their layout. Does anyone know the possible reason?

The attachment is my conversion setup.

thank you

onandon
 

hzqziggy

Newbie level 3
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,292
cdb view

so could you please tell what is icc.rules? i appreciate it!
 

tsinghua

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Messages
222
Helped
23
Reputation
46
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,111
cadence allegro cdb

Do not try to convert PDK from cdb to oa. You can only update your design library to oa.
 

htetlinnaung

Newbie level 5
Joined
Apr 14, 2009
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,395
Hi .. Dear all When I translate , I get the message , what should I do ? pls help me , Thank

****************************************************************************
Translation of library "UMC_18_CMOS" stopped.
Message Summary:
ERROR (CDBOA-411): The translator stopped because the OpenAccess cds.lib
definition for library <name> points back to the CDBA
version of the library. You cannot mix OpenAccess and CDBA
data in the same location. Remove the definition from the
OpenAccess cds.lib file or redefine it so that it points to
a different location.

Generated once. The definition for the specified library
in the OpenAccess cds.lib file would place the OpenAccess
version of the library in the same location as the CDBA
version. This is not permitted. Either remove the
definition from the OpenAccess cds.lib file and let the
translator create it for you or redefine it so that it
points to a location other than the location of the CDBA
library.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top