Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to write self checking test bench for uart.v

Status
Not open for further replies.

kalpana.aravind

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
uart testbench

Hi everyone,

I am new to verilog Hardware Description Language.
I would like to know about writing test bench.
I need to write the a self checking test bench that fully exercises the Verilog UART module uart.v
The uart.v can be found at the following link.
https://www.asic-world.com/examples/verilog/uart.html
As I beginner I am just learning the verilog, so I have no idea how to proceed with this.
So please If any body is familiar with writing testbench code, please give me some suggestions.
It would be a great help if anyone, who has already written the code can email to me sample code.

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks

verilog testbench for uart

Hi...........

I'M quoting here a simple example..............

The name of the file is and1.v
-------------------------
module and1(a,b,c);

input [3:0]a,b;
output [3:0]c;

wire [3:0]a,b;
reg [3:0]c;

initial
begin

c = a & b;

end

endmodule

--------------------------

`include "and1.v"

module Tb();

reg [3:0]a,b;
wire [3:0]c;

and1 dut(a,b,c);

initial
begin
a <= 4'b1010;
b <= 4'b0111;
end

initial
begin
$display("%b",c)
end

endmodule

testbench for uart

hi,
if u r using some simple simulators...it will be good to display the messages.
you can instance the RTL in a module and apply the stimulus.
but if u rusing cadence or VCS then dump the waveforms. and check it.

self checking testbench example

Hi,