Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to work with CD4060B to change the timing

Status
Not open for further replies.

srevish

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
DP.JPGDear All,

I am quite new to work with ripple binary counter.

I have attached the circuit diagram of my project, this counter has the cycle time of 10 mins. I want to reduce the timing to 6 mins.

Please help me to solve this problem.

The only practical way to speed it up is to change the crystal frequency. To go from 10 mins to 6 mins you need 52.946KHz based on the frequency you are already using but the 31.768KHz on your schematic is unusual, are you sure it isn't 32.678KHz which is a standard value? If it is 32.768KHz, the new crystal should be 54.613KHZ.

Brian.

You are tapping from the highest bit (pin Q14). It looks as though you are resetting it from another IC. Or is On for 10 minutes, then Off for 10 minutes?

Anyway, suppose you were to tap from Q13. Its cycle will be half the length. 5 minutes.

And then suppose you were to find another pin or pins, which, combined with Q13, all go high at the 6 min. mark.

Send those outputs to an 'AND' gate.

You'll then need to set the ripple counter to zero.

The only practical way to speed it up is to change the crystal frequency. To go from 10 mins to 6 mins you need 52.946KHz based on the frequency you are already using but the 31.768KHz on your schematic is unusual, are you sure it isn't 32.678KHz which is a standard value? If it is 32.768KHz, the new crystal should be 54.613KHZ.

Brian.

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your reply.