Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to Use TSMC 0.18um Process and BSIM3(V3.1) Model

Status
Not open for further replies.

emeraude

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi! I'm a newbie in analog design. I'm currently designing a schematic of a two-stage cmos opamp using TSMC 0.18 process file and BSIM3(V3.1) model as my library in Star-Hspice simulator. Using the formula for Id(sat) and the parameters(Vt0, tox, Uo) from my model, I was able to compute W/L to achieve the 80dB open loop gain. But during ac simulation the result is -40dB. What could be the problem in my design?...Does it means that hand calculation using the Vto, tox and Uo parameters will not give me my expected/computed result during simulation? Then how should I use those parameters and model in my design during hand calculation to achieve my expected output? Please help me. Thanks!

I am not expert .... But I think you will not get the expected output (from manual calculations) from the simulation. You can calculate only approx. gain from manual calculations. But the difference between the two will not be as large as 80 dB and -40 dB. I think there is some problem with simulation ( netlist ) ....