Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to transmit data over 2-wire DC power line ( e.g 5V)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Al555

Newbie level 3
Joined
Oct 23, 2004
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
50
data over dc power

Hi,

Does anybody heard about cicrcuits that can transmit serial data and suply circuits over 1-pair (2-wire only ) power line. ( up to 2400...4800 Bd, up to 2000Ft. )

I've heard about HART protocol, but it's industrial one. I want make my own drivers and cicrcuits.

Are there any specialized chips ??
Does anybody heard about it ??

Regards,

Al555
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,629
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
data over dc

First you have a low pass filter for the power connection and a high pass filter for the data.

Then you can use ordinary telephone modem type communications. The only thing you will have to take care of is the on-off hook sensing because there is no DC level to sense and also the lack of a dial tone.
 

puffo

Newbie level 4
Joined
Nov 3, 2004
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Pisa
Activity points
56
how to transmit data over power supply lines

The serial signal must be encoded with a RZ encoding (i.e. Manchester) and then it can be superimposed on DC supply voltage.
Infact the signal so encoded have no DC components and to achieve galvanic isolation you may also use transfomer between the serial driver/receiver ant the line (before of the bypass capacitors)
 

Bluechem

Member level 4
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
70
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
698
dc power line modem

for such a long distance, use of a decent error-detection algorithm like CRC is a must.
 

sdobric

Newbie level 4
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
54
data over dc line

Any ideas for transfer over AC (low voltage 12V)?
 

btbass

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Messages
1,897
Helped
438
Reputation
880
Reaction score
287
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Oberon
Activity points
12,863
data over 2 wires

This is quite comonly done on fire alarm systems, then you can have your detectors all connected to the same two wires. Saves wiring!
You can use telecom DTMF chips (dual tone multi frequency) for the encoding and decoding. They are cheap and widley available. You just have to write your own protocol.
 

bobcat1

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 10, 2002
Messages
1,288
Helped
99
Reputation
198
Reaction score
34
Trophy points
1,328
Activity points
8,547
power and data over two wires

Use this chip it will do the work for you

best

Bobi
 

digit

Newbie level 5
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
110
data and power over 2 wires

why didnt you try RS485 protocol it's simply like RS232 but Halfduplix and u detremine the direction by logically from one pin.. using 75176 from texas instruments.
it could travel through 1500 mt.
search more at google
regards

Added after 43 seconds:

why didnt you try RS485 protocol it's simply like RS232 but Halfduplix and u detremine the direction by logically from one pin.. using 75176 from texas instruments.
it could travel through 1500 mt. over shielded twisted pair wire (2 wires)
search more at google
regards
 

gidimiz

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Feb 3, 2005
Messages
427
Helped
124
Reputation
248
Reaction score
40
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
5,157
lin over dc

Hi bobcat1,

Where can you buy this chip?
Who is the supplier and is it widly avilable?
Had you ever used it?

Thanks.
 

bobcat1

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 10, 2002
Messages
1,288
Helped
99
Reputation
198
Reaction score
34
Trophy points
1,328
Activity points
8,547
transmit data on power supply line

Hello Gidimiz

This chip maufecturerd by simens for EIB power communication protocol

Search EIB or TPuart in google and you will find DS and source code how to connect

All he best


Bobi
 

artem

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
1,350
Helped
126
Reputation
252
Reaction score
32
Trophy points
1,328
Location
Turkey
Activity points
13,450
sending data over 5v dc supply

In topic
there is proprietary protocol https://www.apollo-fire.co.uk/PDFs/PP1039 XP95 EPG.pdf

It looks they took 4-20 current loop as base and send digitized output using loop as power supply as well . For example 0 is 5 ma, 1 is 20 ma .
On receiver end you have to implement current detector comparator .


For slow signal rate it is the best price solution .
 

vdaniel

Full Member level 4
Joined
Oct 8, 2004
Messages
204
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,157
dc powerline modem

Bobi, about the EIA-TP-UART-IC

First thank you very much for an interesting information. Then questions:
1. Your datasheet from 25.10.01 seems to be newer, than the one from the Siemans page. Where from is it? But the same time the document number of your DS 25.15.10.41.33a seems to be older, than of the Siemens: 25.15.14.41.34a. Contradiction?
2. Where can I buy this chip? First I need a small quantity and then about 100. Please, can you recommend a supplier? I found only one in Russia, but they sell only very large quantities.
3. Can you recommend, where on the web one can find the best tech. information about the EIB. I tried to find by Google, and received a lot of noise. I think to use it on the new Gamma-Ray telescope MAGIC-II to be built soon on La-Palma.

Thank you very much in advance,

Varuzhan
 

cdrx

Newbie level 1
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,285
Re: sending data over 5v dc supply

Respected sir,
This link "http://www.apollo-fire.co.uk/PDFs/PP1039%20XP95%20EPG.pdf" is dead.Can you please provide me the new address or the pdf file.
Thanks and regard,
Rahul
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top