Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to testing ADC/DAC by using MATLAB.

Status
Not open for further replies.

liccAMS

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
17
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,423
I have the same question:
how can i use the data from simulation(such as Hspice) to do some MATLAB test?
that is the interface between Hspice and MATLAB.
can you understand me ,my English is poor.
thanks
 

kidman561

Newbie level 5
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
63
I have understood.
you can use the hspice matlab tools.
 

eezou

Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
90
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,791
You can use logic analyzer to get the data. Then data is analysed by MATLAB program.
 

lovseed

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
42
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,795
i am testing DAC using the discrete data obtained from HSPICE simulation. Data frequency is (15/32)*50M and sampling frequency is 50MHz.

However I found that even the data is got from ideal DAC , the FFT plot is not satisfying in matlab with only about 20dB SFDR.

Anyone can tell what is the problem ?

Even with more data points, the situation is the same.

I am using a perl script to generate the ideal DAC output , I am wondering whether the perl script does not have enough accuracy.
 

noiseless

Full Member level 3
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
172
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,495
loveseed,

1.Be caureful the sampling freuqency can not be integral times of the input frequency.
2. select a complete whole cycle, that means if you choose N points, the N+1 point will exactly overlap the first point.
 

lovseed

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
42
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,795
Thank you!

I have taken care of that.
512 sampling points has 240 data cycles and the discrete data has 16 cycles.

512*15/32=240
every 32 sampling cycles equals 15 data cycles
So the discrete data is periodic after each 15 data cycles.
discrete data cycles: 240/15=16

Any other considerations? I use 50M samping freq and 10M data freq, the situation is better.
 

fxxjssc

Member level 4
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
79
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,879
I think logic analyzer should be better and necessary
 

ee484

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
153
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,559
In toolbox, we cannot use the program in window environment.
Do you guys know somehow we can use it in window environment?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top