Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to start this LCD?

Status
Not open for further replies.

panda1234

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
125
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
18
Activity points
1,172
Hi,
I have LCD in below but i don't know what's that model and know i want to start it but i don't see conductor to connect that.please give me your information about that.
Thanks
WIN_20150615_155251.jpg
 

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
14,875
Helped
4,861
Reputation
9,740
Reaction score
4,643
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
126,609
It looks like LCD glass from a clock or calculator. They are often custom made to specific requirements so you may not find a generic data sheet or part number for it. You have to generate your own backplane and phase signals, it doesn't work like a logic level LCD module.

Try holding it at an angle so the light glances off it and you might be able to see the segment structure, that will give some idea of what it is capable of displaying. To work out which pins do what is quite complicated, you need an AC square wave generator giving ~3V at around 500Hz. You then have to connect the signal to the black strips, trying all combinations. Some strips will be common to several characters (backplanes) and some to several segments. You have to work out the connection map then provide the correct combination of in and out of phase signals between the backplane and segments to drive it.

Brian.
 

panda1234

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
125
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
18
Activity points
1,172
where is conductor of wires?the black wire don't have conductor.
 

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
14,875
Helped
4,861
Reputation
9,740
Reaction score
4,643
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
126,609
??? the black strips ARE the conductors. You need either an in-line socket to plug the strip in to or, a 'zebra strip' elastomer joiner to connect it directly to a circuit board.

Brian.
 

bigdogguru

Administrator
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
9,831
Helped
2,348
Reputation
4,690
Reaction score
2,274
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Southwest, USA
Activity points
62,510
It's a form of a Flexible Flat Cable (FFC), aka Flex Cable, you'll need a ZIF or LIF connector:


Flexible Flat Cable

It's essential a very flat low profile flexible ribbon cable.

However, as Brian pointed out, connecting it is the least of your problems.

It's most likely a monochrome custom segment LCD and driving such a device is considerably more complex than driving a HD44780 compatible LCD.

There are microcontrollers designed for which their one of their primary purposes is to drive such a device, requiring specialized drive circuitry and logic embedded into an onboard controller module. The proper drive circuitry depends largely on the specific device and their specifications, many are not cross compatible. And I might add, without a proper datasheet for the specific device, designing and implementing a functional controller would be an arduous task.

As an example, the Microchip PIC24FJ128GC010 has an embedded segment LCD controller which can drive some custom segment displays with up to 59 segments and 8 commons:

PIC24FJ128GC010 Family Datasheet

PIC24F "GC" Starter Kit for Intelligent Analog


BigDog
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top