Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to solve high power LED array heat issue?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave_UK

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am new to electronics and need some help with a project I am building so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I have built an array of 48 high power LED's (3.5v, 125ma) running on a 12v power supply. The array was built using stripboard and is housed in an aluminium instrument case. After about 30 seconds of power the array starts to get hot and the board starts to smoke.

I am planning to add a couple of fans to the case and I assume some sort of heatsink is in order but I dont know where to start with this.

Many thanks in advance.

Dave.

410 nm led array

Stripboards are not very good as far as real copper resistance is concerned ..
And you have 68x0.125mA of currents flowing around this board ..
I would start with soldering plated copper wire of certain crossection - for example 1mm², or more - thus increasing condactivity of existing tracks ..
Then you can think about adding fans ..

Regards,
IanP

led array 10000k

Thanks for the reply.

I will eventually be using a PCB for the array so Im not too worried about the limitations of the stripboard. I am more concerned about how to keep the LEDs running at a reasonable temperature.

Any suggestions about which type of heatsink to use and how I could mount it?

Cheers

Dave.

cooling an led array