Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to simulate 120 degree phase shift?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hadimotamedi

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,352
Dear All
For 3-phase motor control, can you please let me know how can I simulate three sine wave generators on Pspice with 120 degree out of phase each?
Thank you
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,301
Helped
14,233
Reputation
28,727
Reaction score
12,925
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
279,678
The most simple method is to use the phase parameter of the sin voltage source.
 

hadimotamedi

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,352
Thank you for your reply. But for the VSIN source, I just see the DC offset parameter and amplitude and frequency parameters so how can I change the initial phase? Is there any other source to be used?
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,301
Helped
14,233
Reputation
28,727
Reaction score
12,925
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
279,678
You said, you are using PSPICE. SIN source parameters are (<voff> <vampl> <freq> <td> <df> <phase>) according to the reference manual. What are you missing? Just read the manual thoroughly.
 

hadimotamedi

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,352
You are right. But when I place the SIN source it just shows the Voffset, Vamplitude , and FREQ parameters. How can I have the other parameters accessible ( td , df , phase) ?

---------- Post added at 10:26 ---------- Previous post was at 10:22 ----------

Sorry. I found it. Thank you again
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,301
Helped
14,233
Reputation
28,727
Reaction score
12,925
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
279,678
You're apparently using the Orcad editor with PSPICE. Parameters can be added (and enabled for display) in the property editor. It's much more comfortable with the classical PSPICE schematic editor in my opinion.
 

LvW

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
5,844
Helped
1,742
Reputation
3,488
Reaction score
1,343
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Germany
Activity points
39,339
You're apparently using the Orcad editor with PSPICE. Parameters can be added (and enabled for display) in the property editor. It's much more comfortable with the classical PSPICE schematic editor in my opinion.

Perhaps not to important - but I agree. I always use the editor "schematics" (from Microsim) and I strongly dislike "capture" from Orcad. The same to Multisim and its schematic capture feature. Awful! (....but perhaps a matter of accustoming).
 

atripathi

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
452
Helped
91
Reputation
182
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,318
Location
INDIA
Activity points
3,818
You can define phase of sine source in PSpice. Modify the parameter named as Phase. (refer attached picture)
Following syntax defines 3 phase, 50HZ, 120V Peak voltage sine source

V_VA A N33307
+SIN 0 120 50HZ 0 0 0
V_VB B N33307



+SIN 0 120 50HZ 0 0 -120
V_VC C N33307
+SIN 0 120 50HZ 0 0 -240
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top