Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to reuse previous projects in Eagle?

Status
Not open for further replies.

clab

Newbie level 3
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,307
how to project reuse?

I have a question about Eagle capabilities: Is it possible to reuse previous projects?

Eagle is only able to open one schematic at a time and cannot copy groups of components. I've hoped using multiple sheets will solve the problem but I don't see any way of importing an old schematic or sheet in a new project.

Is there any way of merging two schematics?

All the best
 

centiago

Full Member level 3
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
173
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Lions Den
Activity points
2,684
Re: how to project reuse?

You cab do it by creating a hierarchical schematic. In hierarchical schematic you can call a sectionns of design to new design.

Else, Open the existing design & save as new one & edit it.

Both way you can do it.

Good Luck.
 

clab

Newbie level 3
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,307
how to project reuse?

What you said, hierarchical schematic is exactly what I need. Is that supported in Eagle? I have not fund anything like that

Thanks
 

M!k

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Apr 22, 2002
Messages
682
Helped
109
Reputation
218
Reaction score
35
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
4,822
Re: how to project reuse?

clab said:
... and cannot copy groups of components
You can copy a group of components, but it's a little bit inconvenient:
- open the old schematic
- group and cut the desired components
- open the new schematic. It's imporatant not to close EAGLE!
- paste the copied components in the new schematic


Mik
 

    clab

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

clab

Newbie level 3
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,307
Re: how to project reuse?

thanks alot. inconvenient but at least works :D
 

ahmad_abdulghany

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
1,209
Helped
102
Reputation
206
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,318
Location
San Jose, California, USA
Activity points
11,807
Re: how to project reuse?

If you made hierarchical components all in a block, then you can use them simply as single components..

Regards,
Ahmad,
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top