Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to overcome setup time violation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cutykat

Newbie level 2
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,305
Hi,
I would like to know what needs to be done when there is a setup time violation.
How can it be set right ?
Thanks,
 

bronzefury

Member level 1
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
39
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,773
time violation

Hi,

I might be able to help. But, if you could be more specific about the problem you are seeing and where in the design phase you are in, it would allow me to provide a better, focused answer.
 

eeeraghu

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
221
Helped
26
Reputation
50
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,384
fixing the setup time violation

Set up time violation,

Use High effort option in the synthesis tool, if it is not helpful then, try to reduce the input delay for the flipflop by appropriate coding and design.

regards
Raghu
 

anjali

Full Member level 3
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
173
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,033
setup time violations

last chance is reducing the clock frequency.
 

sogone

Newbie level 1
Joined
Oct 16, 2005
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Some Where
Activity points
1,288
how setup time violation

If you are going to reduce the clock frequency instead of fixing the input delay,
then watch out your hold time first.
 

sameer_dlh25

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 21, 2005
Messages
105
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
San Jose
Activity points
1,882
set up time violations

This is a kind of broad question.
If area is not a concern then you can use a driving cell with high driving capacity.
Most of the designing tools results are specific to the coding style. Somtimes changing coding style may achieve better timing.
Could you tell me the exact problem:?:
 

sarath51

Full Member level 2
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
134
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
985
setup timing violations

Proper Constrainig depending on the Tool might help or chage the design if the currebt frequency has to be met
 

urgentor

Newbie level 2
Joined
Oct 20, 2005
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,304
ff setup high violation

First let the tools synthesize the design with higher effort, if it doesn't work you'll have to go back to modify your RTL code. To break the worst path into 2 parts by inserting a FF in the middle, or, just latch some signal before using it if the it's ok with your logic.
 

linli

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
82
setup timing voilation

you may ask your backend team also, sometimes they can help you fix the violations on the layout side
 

sparc200

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jan 15, 2003
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
92
how to fix setup time violation

it depends on which design phase you are in. In pre layout phase, synthesis tool running with a high effort may resolve the prolbem, logic change can do it too.
If postlayout, you may need to move cells, sizing up cells.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top