Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to measure temperature of SMPS FET?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eem2am

Banned
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
1,180
Helped
37
Reputation
74
Reaction score
23
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
0
Hello,

I am doing a 230VAC, offline, 21W flyback with TOP264VG (eDIP-12 package)
The SMPS will be in an adapter (i.e. totally enclosed)

This PWM controller has an on-chip FET

TOP264VG datasheet:
https://www.powerint.com/products/topswitch-family/topswitch-jx

I wish to measure the temperature of the case of my TOPSwitch whilst it is running on full load, Minimum Vin and inside its enclosure with maximum ambient temperature outside the enclosure.
(-when I have the case temperature of the TOP264VG, I will then work out the junction temperature using the datasheet provided Rth(JC) value.

I am presuming that I must measure the TOP264VG case temperature by glueing a thermocouple to the case of TOP264?

Do you know what type of glue I should use to glue the thermocouple to the case of the TOP264VG?
I presume it must be thermal glue?…Please could you recommend a part number for this glue, or give the “specification” of this glue?

Also, I assume that it will not be enough to merely glue the end of the thermocouple to the case of the TOP264VG(?)……and that in order to provide some strain relief (so that the thermocouple does not accidentally get pulled off) I will have to glue the thermocouple wire itself to the PCB , close to the TOP264VG (?)
-If so, then what kind of glue should I use to glue the thermocouple wire to the PCB?

Also, to what part of the case of the TOP264VG should I glue the end of the thermocouple? (right in the middle? , as close to the source pins as possible? Or as close to the drain pin as possible?)

Sorry for long post…thankyou for reading.
 

Mr.Cool

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
664
Helped
87
Reputation
178
Reaction score
60
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
7,111

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,269
I don't know the device you are talking about but be careful you don't electricute yourself - if it has a metal case it may be live.

I usually use either a thermocouple surface probe (it has a handle and thermocouple bonded to a small disc and is spring loaded) or non-contact infra-red thermometer.

Keith
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
49,143
Helped
14,384
Reputation
29,032
Reaction score
13,139
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
283,247
Using a selfmade thermocouple from NiCr/Ni wires with a diameter of 0.1 mm or even below, thermal conductivity of the glue effectively doesn't matter any more.
 

karesz

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Messages
2,332
Helped
327
Reputation
654
Reaction score
52
Trophy points
1,328
Location
EU
Activity points
14,596
Hi,
Masterbond has (I think) the worlds biggest sortimente on epoxy & other thermally (& electrical too) conductive glues_most are Space & Mil qualifyed too... -)
https://www.masterbond.com/
K.
 

eem2am

Banned
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
1,180
Helped
37
Reputation
74
Reaction score
23
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
0
hello, if i glue the thermocouple to the PCB metal of the drain pin, then that will mean its got the switching voltage on it, (switching between 0V and 330V)............won't that be a problem for the thermocouple, and the accuracy of the temperatur reading?
 

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,269
eem2am said:
hello, if i glue the thermocouple to the PCB metal of the drain pin, then that will mean its got the switching voltage on it, (switching between 0V and 330V)............won't that be a problem for the thermocouple, and the accuracy of the temperatur reading?

... and your lifetime! It is one of the reasons I bought a non-contact IR probe (that and the risk of blowing up devices by shorting legs with a surface probe).

Keith.
 

dick_freebird

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
7,508
Helped
2,169
Reputation
4,344
Reaction score
2,056
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
60,037
Another possibility is to sample the negative pedestal voltage of
the output switch. If you know load current then the freewheel
pedestal voltage (diode) will give you a temperature reading
if you calibrate it temp:V.

Crude, but something you could make a part of the supply with
maybe a blocking diode, filter network and comparator.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top