Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to map I2C MasterCore from OpenCores into FPGA correctly?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jackkb

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear all,

I have an issue of using I2C MasterCore from OpenCores when I need to map to FPGA. The issue related to handle bi-directional SCL and SDA ports.

I download the code from https://opencores.org/project,i2c. I create a top I2C (I just care about SCL and SDA inout port, for other port, I temporarily ignore it)

Code Verilog - [expand]
module iic_config(
                      inout logic                SDA,  
                      inout logic                SCL,  
                      // Other input, output port);

wire                  scl_pad_i;  
   wire                  scl_pad_o;  
   wire                  scl_padoen_o;  
   wire                  sda_pad_i;  
   wire                  sda_pad_o;  
   wire                  sda_padoen_o;

/* setup tri-state buffers for SDA and SCL */  
   assign SCL       = scl_padoen_o ? 1'bz : scl_pad_o;  
   assign SDA       = sda_padoen_o ? 1'bz : sda_pad_o;  
   assign scl_pad_i = SCL;  
   assign sda_pad_i = SDA; 

i2c_master_top i2c_core(
                                 .scl_pad_i    (scl_pad_i),  
                                 .scl_pad_o    (scl_pad_o),  
                                 .scl_padoen_o (scl_padoen_o),  
                                 .sda_pad_i    (sda_pad_i),  
                                 .sda_pad_o    (sda_pad_o),  
                                 .sda_padoen_o (sda_padoen_o),  
                                 .*);  

endmodule