Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to make the counter count for every 3 sensed IR in a tachometer design?

Status
Not open for further replies.

donrigor

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Messages
21
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,431
I'm planning to build a digital tachometer using IR sensor and counters that can be displayed on 4-seven segment display that counts from 0-9999. Does anybody has an idea on how to make the counter count for every 3 sensed IR.?
 

Fragrance

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
1,191
Helped
248
Reputation
496
Reaction score
200
Trophy points
1,343
Location
East Of Earth
Activity points
8,917

    donrigor

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

pranam77

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 22, 2008
Messages
2,786
Helped
553
Reputation
1,104
Reaction score
371
Trophy points
1,363
Location
INDIA
Activity points
16,415
tutorial tachometer

Find here a ready made project kit with the same specifications you need....https://www.united77.com/Project_Kits.html

Microcontroller based Tacho meter.
This is an easy-to-make photoelectric based tachometer project for measuring the RPM (revolution per minute) of rotating shaft, shop-floor tools and many household machines without any mechanical or electrical interface. The circuit employs AT89C2051 microcontroller as the main controller. Some of the major components used in the circuit are CA3140 operational amplifier, ULN2003 current buffer and KLQ564 4-digit, 7-segment display
 

donrigor

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Messages
21
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,431
building own tacho

Thanks a lot for the idea sir! But i don't know anything about microcontroller. I'm planning to use logic gates. Is there any circuit about logic gates online?
 

pranam77

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 22, 2008
Messages
2,786
Helped
553
Reputation
1,104
Reaction score
371
Trophy points
1,363
Location
INDIA
Activity points
16,415
7 segment tachometer

You are most welcome donrigor. The kit mentioned in my last post will come with a pre-programmed microcontroller. You'll not have to worry about writing the codes. Just use the micro as you use an IC and get the project working. They also provide assembled and tested projects. Enquire them about your needs. Goodluck.
 

GrandAlf

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Messages
520
Helped
47
Reputation
92
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
4,730
micro controller based tachometer

That's certainly how it used to be done. Possibly it may take less effort to learn uC programming than do it all with discreet logic. Just a thought!
 

donrigor

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Messages
21
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,431
tachometer ccs

OK. maybe i'll try to learn uC, but is there are any books online that i can use or any tutorial? can i learn uC in two weeks?
 

GrandAlf

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Messages
520
Helped
47
Reputation
92
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
4,730
tachometer microcontroller

Something like Proteus would be ideal for you. You could simulate virtual uCs displays etc without constucting any hardware. Problem is this facility is not available on the free version. Maybe someone can suggest an alternative. If there is, you could write code in Basic, C etc, and load the generated code into the simulator to test. Good way to learn.
 

    donrigor

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

GrandAlf

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Messages
520
Helped
47
Reputation
92
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
4,730
how to make a tachometer

Google for "Proteus VSM". Seems to be a trial available. Current version is around 7.xx
 

donrigor

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Messages
21
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,431
microcontroller based tachometers

Thanks a lot guys! you all helped me! i guess this a good start here in edaboard.
By the way, Which is good fora beginner BASIC or C?
 

GrandAlf

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Messages
520
Helped
47
Reputation
92
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
4,730
make a tachometer

C can be a bit frustrating to learn at times, but ultimately the better option. Probably the best approach is to learn Basic first, then if you get into it, progress to C. Pic chips are common and cheap, with a good range of compilers for most variants. Pic Basic Pro and CCS C come to mind. I think you may be able to get cut down free versions. If not, there are a number free one available. I think if you go down this road, you will find it much the preferred option in future designs. Software is flexible, hardware usually not.
 

hameeds01

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
599
Helped
75
Reputation
156
Reaction score
41
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Islamabad Pakistan
Activity points
4,540
tachometer.gif

without microcontroller It will be a very tedious job better to learn microcontroller, start it from PIC microcontrollers
 

garg29

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
451
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,605
details of microcontroller based tachometer

you can use 89c2051 much cheaper than PIC controllers, & is perfect for this application
 

GrandAlf

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Messages
520
Helped
47
Reputation
92
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
4,730
89c2051 tachometer project

Good luck with your project, keep asking questions. You may be better off starting with Pic series chips, as there are probably more free tools available for these. Your choice of course, best to do a bit of reading first.
 

donrigor

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Messages
21
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,431
preferred tachometer

I'am now starting with CCS C. I'm experimenting with lt. What should I write in the code to have an input of logic 1 or 0 and also for the output of logic 1 or 0?
 

GrandAlf

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Messages
520
Helped
47
Reputation
92
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
4,730
make a tachometer

Check out some of the included example ccs files.
Initially give pins names as per example file.

#include <16f648A.h>
#use delay(clock=4000000)
#fuses INTRC_IO,WDT,NOPROTECT,PUT,MCLR,NOLVP,BROWNOUT

// Outputs
#define Direction PIN_A2
#define Motor PIN_A3
#define Status PIN_A6
#define SolIn PIN_A7
#define SolOut PIN_A0
#define TLight PIN_A1


//Inputs
#define Progtime PIN_A4
#define PP PIN_B0
#define Operate PIN_B1
#define Raise PIN_B2
#define UpLimit PIN_B3
#define Fire PIN_B4
#define SafeStop PIN_B5
#define Safety PIN_B6
#define DownLimit PIN_B7

To write to PinA3(Motor)
output_high(Motor); "this is HIGH"
output_low(Motor); "This is LOW"

To read same pin
if (input(Motor)) "Do something"; "Reads HIGH Input)

if (!input(Motor)) "Do something"; "Reads LOW Input)

Note the ! for reading low inputs, miss out for high.

You need to do a fair bit of reading the help files.
 

    donrigor

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

donrigor

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Messages
21
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,431
+tachometer +turbine +ir +engine +diy

I've tried some of the codes. Yeah it was good!
 

srikanthsamaga

Full Member level 3
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
179
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
12°52′N 74°53′E
Activity points
2,022

    donrigor

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

kjab8706

Newbie level 1
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Rolla
Activity points
1,285
microcontroller based tacho meter.

After looking at this code seems that this tach is capable of reading up to 99,999 rpms. Am I correct in my assumption, if so that would be great because i am trying to make a tachometer for my diy jet engine and would like to know my turbine speed for safety reasons
 

Prototyp_V1.0

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
669
Helped
119
Reputation
238
Reaction score
82
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Norway
Activity points
5,018
information microcontroller based tachometer

donrigor said:
Does anybody has an idea on how to make the counter count for every 3 sensed IR.?
That means you have to use two counters. One that counts 00 01 10 (and 11 reset to 00 again). After that you connects the main counter.
 

    donrigor

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top