Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to Interface FPGA with DSP(TEXAS)

Status
Not open for further replies.

jonatan

Member level 1
Joined
Jun 10, 2002
Messages
39
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
227
dsp texas 28xx

I am new on this area.

Anyone know if it is easy interface a FPGA (XILINX or Altera)
with any of the available DSPS (Texas TMS320) or Analog Devices
(ADSP21161).
 

vonzhaoqun

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
24
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
china
Activity points
144
dsp interfacing with sram

hi,
it is very easy,i am making a interface betwen tms320vc5416 and xilinix fpga(spartanii),do you get any question?
 

tlp71@hotmail.com

Full Member level 4
Joined
May 14, 2002
Messages
220
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,595
dsp connect fpga

what do you would interface?
Serial port?
Address-space?
i-o ports?
HPI?
is very simple to interface
 

bunalmis

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
268
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Ireland
Activity points
2,147
If you can use standart TTL family in your DSP project.
You can use easly FPGA.

What is the problem ?
 

Gunship

Member level 2
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
51
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
520
jonatan said:
I am new on this area.

Anyone know if it is easy interface a FPGA (XILINX or @ltera)
with any of the available DSPS (Texas TMS320) or Analog Devices
(ADSP21161).
Depending on what you want to do. I usually program the FPGA as a memory device and connect it directly to the main DSP bus. As a result, the FPGA will look like anyother memory / devices that connect to the DSP.

I will not recommend using the HPI in this case. Most of the time HPI is used to interface to a micro-controller. It is not necessary to use it for FPGA. (Of course, you can if you want to.)

If you don't know how to connect the FPGA, look up how to connect an SRAM for your DSP and examine the interface timing. Then design your FPGA to look just like the SRAM. I am sure you can find App notes on how to connect an SRAM to your DSP.

Good luck

Gunship
 

Gunship

Member level 2
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
51
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
520
BTW, make sure your interface voltage standard is compatible. e.g. 3.3V bus connect to 3.3V bus, etc.

Gunship
 

nattawoot_s

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
99
I think that same as interfacing with microcontroller.
 

spit

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
48
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
314
DSP to FPGA

Hi,

with regard to the Analog device you mentioned, check out the section in the Sharc user manual relating to host interface, all the details are clearly shown and it can be achieved with a FPGA.

Spit
 

paviljonac

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Feb 28, 2004
Messages
17
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
152
using TMS320C5510 and virtex2. you can interface thru EMIF of dsp, where FPGA is configured to be seen as static memory space, or thru McBSP serially if suitable.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top