Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to interface a microphone to a speaker?

Status
Not open for further replies.

scream_er

Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey guys

Im a newbie in electronics. Im trying to learn step by step. Im not making a project or anything like that, just trying to learn. I want to know how you can connect a microphone in the simplest way. Can I directly connect microphone to speaker? Or do I need a circuit in between. If so can anyone point me out to a simple circuit that I can build and learn.

Thanks.

screamer_er, just so there won't be any communication gap - please define what you mean by "speaker". Speaker is short for loudspeaker which, strictly speaking, is the component that converts electrical signals into sound (the technical term for a device that converts one form of energy to another form is 'transducer'). However, these days, particularly in the computer age, we often use the word 'speaker' for a combination amplifier-speaker set.

A microphone converts sound energy into very weak electrical currents (it's another type of transducer) and these currents are made stronger (amplified) with electronic circuits. The amplified electrical currents are again converted to sound by the speaker.

To answer your question: connecting a microphone directly to a speaker won't do any good because the electrical currents generated by the microphone are too weak to produce any useful sound at the speaker.

Last edited:

Electrical signals produced by a microphone are very weak. You need a audio amplifier which will increase the signal strength to drive a speaker.