Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to improve the open loop gain for a single-ended op amp

Status
Not open for further replies.

jane_miemie

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,

I'm new to op amp design. I've finished designing a single-ended folded cascode op amp but the open loop gain is fairly low. I'm not sure whether I set up the open loop gain configuration wrong or not. Another problem is now the output resistance is very high, can anybody give me an idea how to lower it? NEED HELP!!! Thanks a lot!!!

I'm using TSMC 0.2um and the specifications I use are listed below:
Vthn = 0.38V Kn = Un*Cox = 226.4uA/V^2
Vthp = -0.422V Kp = Up*Cox = 100.4uA/V^2
Vdd = 2.5V
CL = 10pF
slew rate = 10V/us
output voltage: min = 0.5V max = 2V
input CM voltage: min = 1V max = 2.5V
power dissipation < 5mW
Av > 60dB
GB = 10MHz
schematic.pngac_response.png

Hi,

An op-amp's gain is directionally proportional to Current... so by mirroring exactly ... you can achieve good Gain...

And also Every technology has a Appropriate length for exact current mirroring.. for example tsmc40 has minimum length of "700nm" to mirror exact current....(i dont know for this pdk)..

And increase the area of the differential pair you used.. You are using "200nm" length.. just increase it..

Then i have made small corrections to the schematic you uploaded... In this schematic,.. if you reduce the Bottom N_MOS pair's "vdsat" the gain will increase...
And make good sizings of the cascode pair,....

If you need swing means use CS stage... its optional...

and 10pF load cap looks just a bit high...