Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to get OFFSET voltage of THE OP-AMP

Status
Not open for further replies.

wael_wael

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
222
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,772
how to get the offset voltage for an op amp

Hi,
i am try to simulate MY OP-AMP but i dont know how to simulate offset voltage, any suggestaion
thanx in advanced
 

zizu

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Apr 18, 2007
Messages
19
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,373
offset and span op amp

u should take the mismatching effect into account.
Adjust the W/L from being matched manually or utilize Monte-Carlo analysis.
 

    wael_wael

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

wael_wael

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
222
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,772
opamp_adv

thanks, but still i need the circuit which be used for measuring the offset, and how to do that.
regads
 

kwkam

Full Member level 5
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Messages
276
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Somewhere on earth
Activity points
1,879
You can simulate the a Av=+1 feedback config, and input a vcc/2 to +ve input. If your opamp have systemic offset, you will read it on -ve input. For random offset, you better to model it from the principle.
 

    wael_wael

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

isong

Newbie level 2
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
2
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,288
If the OPAMP has only random offset, you can get it by introducing some mismatch purposely. However,I think the correct modelling is not easy.


wael_wael said:
Hi,
i am try to simulate MY OP-AMP but i dont know how to simulate offset voltage, any suggestaion
thanx in advanced
 

    wael_wael

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

rush3k

Member level 1
Joined
Mar 31, 2006
Messages
38
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,507
the way you can do that is to sweep your differential input from say about -0.5V to +0.5V, your offset should fall within this range. the output (Vout vs Vsweep/in) will look like a step. Vsweep/in @ Vout=0 is your offset voltage Vos. so long as in the graph, the point vin=0 falls in the linear region of the step, you will have reasonable results.
 

    wael_wael

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

wael_wael

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
222
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,772
thanx alot, could u show me the circuit configration which used for this measurment
regds
 

rush3k

Member level 1
Joined
Mar 31, 2006
Messages
38
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,507
there's a spice netlist for such a simulation on page 22 here:
h**p://webpages.eng.wayne.edu/cadence/ECE7570/doc/OPAMP_ADV.pdf
 

    wael_wael

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

Meridian

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
319
Helped
20
Reputation
40
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Ontario, Canada
Activity points
2,748
wael_wael said:
Hi,
i am try to simulate MY OP-AMP but i dont know how to simulate offset voltage, any suggestaion
thanx in advanced

Try this:

62_1177678965.gif
 

    wael_wael

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

wael_wael

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
222
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,772
hi everybody,
thanx for your help, i would like to till MY OP-AMP for Track and Hold T/H application that deal with small term of capacitance.
any way my T/H work as well but still ineed to increase its SFDR.
this measurment of the OP AMP is so complex for me especially CMRR bcz my OPAMP is fully differential .
still i didnt get the solution as well for my case. if there any datasheet or notes can help pls suggest it to mt
regards
 

Sadegh.j

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
754
Helped
48
Reputation
98
Reaction score
15
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,596
since your opamp is ideal, you will get nothing, in practice, we gorund the inputs of the opamp and check the outpur, I believe it is a good idea to model the disturbing effect via a source
 

    wael_wael

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

saubhik

Full Member level 3
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
162
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
2,210
wire ur opamp as vtg follower connect i/p to ground . the vtg of o/p shuld be zero . but due to offset it will not be zero . this will be of very less measure it with some precesion measuring instrument




wael_wael said:
thanks, but still i need the circuit which be used for measuring the offset, and how to do that.
regads
 

rfzheng

Member level 5
Joined
May 17, 2006
Messages
86
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,670
you may connect you OPAMP as a voltage follower, then sweep the dc voltage at the postive input stage, and check the difference of output voltage with your input voltage .
the offset will be showed by their difference
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top