Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to generate a ramp voltage on a soc

Status
Not open for further replies.

stud.taneja

Newbie level 6
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,348
how do we generate a ramp voltage for comparator offset voltage calculation on a SOC for analog built-in-self test application?
 

erikl

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
8,112
Helped
2,689
Reputation
5,358
Reaction score
2,291
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Germany
Activity points
44,155
Constant current into and out of a capacitor.

If your SOC includes a DAC anyway, you could use it together with a (slow) clock and a binary counter, s. this posting!
 
Last edited:

stud.taneja

Newbie level 6
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,348
but that would create discrete voltage levels

is there any way to generate a perfect ramp without using complicated circuits
 

erikl

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
8,112
Helped
2,689
Reputation
5,358
Reaction score
2,291
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Germany
Activity points
44,155
that would create discrete voltage levels
Does it matter if you have a fine resolution?

is there any way to generate a perfect ramp without using complicated circuits
Sure; told you above!

Another way: A SOC surely has a clock. Divide it down to an appropriate frequency and integrate it to a triangle ramp.
 

stud.taneja

Newbie level 6
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,348
yes it does matter a lot as i have to measure the comparator offset voltages which are in mV

integration thing is OK but it will require a cap which will bring a large area
 

erikl

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
8,112
Helped
2,689
Reputation
5,358
Reaction score
2,291
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Germany
Activity points
44,155
yes it does matter a lot as i have to measure the comparator offset voltages which are in mV
There are DACs with sub-mV resolution. Seems you don't have one, poor guy! :cry:

integration thing is OK but it will require a cap which will bring a large area

Depends on your comparator speed: 10nA/10pF = 1mV/µs could be a compromise.

Otherwise use my 3rd suggestion: slow clock integration.
 

stud.taneja

Newbie level 6
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,348
we do have a dac with sub-mV threshhold but i need one for high frequency interfacing (250 MHz - 500 MHz) . Are such DACs available

---------- Post added at 15:48 ---------- Previous post was at 14:56 ----------

also tell the possibility of generating a sine wave using PWM
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top