Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to extract SPICE netlist from GDS file

Status
Not open for further replies.

vsop

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 24, 2001
Messages
52
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
east
Activity points
513
Is there any tools is able to extract the netlist (in SPICE format) from the existing GDS file? Thanks in advance.
 

joe2moon

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
280
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
MOON
Activity points
3,731
gds comparation calibre

Take a look at:
Verplex Conformal™ LVR (Layout vs. RTL)
h**p://www,verplex,com/products/lec_brochure_LVR.html

It extracts the SPICE netlist from GDS...
 

vsop

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 24, 2001
Messages
52
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
east
Activity points
513
dracular lpe

after reading its brochure, i wonder it is able to extract the netlist from gds? it seems to be able to compare the netlist from gds w/ rtl code. i'm not sure if i'm right. besides, i prefer the one which is free, or shareware.
 

joe2moon

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
280
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
MOON
Activity points
3,731
que es gds en pspice

I think...
Maybe you can try to search the RC-extraction tools :D

Since they should be able to do the lpe (layout parasitic extraction),
and export the SPICE netlist.
 

bastos4321

Full Member level 5
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
264
Helped
27
Reputation
54
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
space
Activity points
2,240
can you get gds from spice

Calibre LVS for simple devices and xCalibre for parasitics, Dracula LPE, etc, can do the job.

Bastos
 

tlihu

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
336
Helped
19
Reputation
42
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,258
gds2 extraction tool

Is it possible to obtain netlist from GDS without the original technology file? :(
 

Hughes

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 10, 2003
Messages
717
Helped
113
Reputation
226
Reaction score
25
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,984
extract rc info from gds

You should at least know the layer information and primary cell of the gdsII file.
 

ICdesign

Newbie level 2
Joined
Mar 21, 2003
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
44
how to writeout cdl by reading gds in calibre

1. get the layer information
2.make out the command file for extraction
3. do extraction
4. you will get CDL netlist (SPICE)

you can choose dracula, diva, herculas, Calibre or Ledit tools you like.
 

zay_74007

Newbie level 3
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
32
利用calibre gds2得到 hspice

I dont think it useful, because you can not understand the netlist extracted from the layout.
 

rakko

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jun 1, 2001
Messages
233
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
mozambic
Activity points
2,065
extract spice from gdsii

if you have a complete gds netlist, you stream in your gds into astro, define your layer numbers, and VDD/VSS. Then, you can write out a complete netlist. All this works if your gds was extracted completely to begin with.
 

ttspice

Member level 3
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
64
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Republic of Taiwan
Activity points
555
spice gds

Use an old fashion tool: Cade*ce Dracula LPE

It can extract not only MOS but also R/C as long as you have the right command file.
 

mlxsae

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
54
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
6
Activity points
0
extract spice netlist from gds

I recommend to use the C@dence tools however it can extract R/C but not
the resistances of the routing wires. Does anybody has eperiences with
post extracting this resistances? Is it possible with the c@dence tools?

Thnx!
S. 8)
 

shiowjyh

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 29, 2003
Messages
105
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,067
c in gdsii

mlxsae said:
I recommend to use the C@dence tools however it can extract R/C but not
the resistances of the routing wires. Does anybody has eperiences with
post extracting this resistances? Is it possible with the c@dence tools?

Thnx!
S. 8)

As I known, the metal resistance is about 0.075 ohm/sq.
Compare to those equivalent resistance of MOS devices, it may omit.
However, the parasitic capacitance does not; loading will affect your transition time. This always happens on a submicron design...
In deep submicron, you may take care more parameters...

Currently, on 0.25um or above (>0.25um), C@dence Dracula seems has no extra options to done with a parasitic resistance. However, you may put an extra dummy metal layer to form a metal resistance if you want...

Regards,
 

mehello

Newbie level 6
Joined
Apr 15, 2003
Messages
13
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
94
lpe from gds

so many tools can do this, Hercules, Dracula,Apollo, Astro, this is a basic function for most backend EDA tools.
 

shelkerahul

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
79
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
581
netlist-to-gds

Hi,

If u have gds netlist, then do the “v2lvs” in CALIBRE. I think this is the simplest way to write the spice netlist.
 

marksile

Member level 1
Joined
Feb 7, 2005
Messages
32
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
278
does pspice accept gds files ?

You can run LPE(in fact it is LVS) while you think from GDS netlist to SPICE netlist. But you should add some parameter in you .lpe file. i.e. cap, res etc.
 

flyankh

Member level 5
Joined
Feb 16, 2004
Messages
94
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
832
GDS -> SPICE

Hi,vsop

In fact you are in a reverse flow .The RC extract tools can not work without an original netlist.
And from now on there haven't any tools can build a readable netlist from GDS file as I know.But if the GDS is not too huge ,you can try to use them ,and try to handle it.

Regards

flyankh
 

skymusic

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
57
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
393
Re: GDS -> SPICE

NC-verilog is leader, powerful

Added after 6 minutes:

I know two way.
1, Use LVS tools(like calibre), before check lvs, netlist from layout is extracted.
2, Use extract-rc tools(like xcalibre, diva), can extract-rc without RC, when use xcalibre, hspice and spectre netlist can be generated.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top