Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to draw varying width of the arc traces

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rogerlu

Newbie level 4
Joined
Mar 17, 2016
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
38
Hi all,
Can anybody tell me how can the varying width of the arc traces be drawn by Altium ?

弧形走线.jpg
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
20,822
Helped
4,497
Reputation
9,006
Reaction score
4,565
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
137,468
Hi,

this is a handmade layout, without the aid of a computer.

What exactely do you mean?

Klaus
 

marce

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
2,015
Helped
623
Reputation
1,246
Reaction score
608
Trophy points
1,393
Location
UNITED KINGDOM
Activity points
13,954
Best bet for arcs and ellipses is use a proper 2D or 3D drawing package such as AutoCAD or Draftsight, then when drawn transfer to PCB via a DXF interface.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
49,159
Helped
14,391
Reputation
29,046
Reaction score
13,143
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
283,318
I don't see varying width, just arced trace segments with different fixed width, some overlaid. You can route this way with most PCB packages, I presume with Altium, too. DXF import is reasonable if you want draw specific structures with help by construction tools, e.g. planar coils.
 

Rogerlu

Newbie level 4
Joined
Mar 17, 2016
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
38
See the inner trace that has varying width, I just wanna know how it is designed or drawed..
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
49,159
Helped
14,391
Reputation
29,046
Reaction score
13,143
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
283,318
I don't see a copper feature that couldn't be drawn with regular trace segments of fixed width. Even if some traces have varying width, there's hardly a necessity to do so.
 

Mattylad

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
946
Helped
231
Reputation
464
Reaction score
224
Trophy points
1,323
Location
Lancashire UK.
Activity points
7,217
In other words - just do it in your CAD system using tracks of a suitable width and do not worry about the varying width you see - it was probably all done with a pen 30+ years ago.

Make it better :)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top