Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to do "DONT_TOUCH" in MAGMA

Status
Not open for further replies.

au_sun

Full Member level 2
Joined
Aug 5, 2004
Messages
147
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,184
i am working on P&R(placement and routing) in Magma,
i have a requirment of keeping a sub-block under the top module as dont_touch
how to do "dont_touch" in magma ?

i request edaboard members for ur kind help.....
 

aravind

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
482
Helped
45
Reputation
94
Reaction score
18
Trophy points
1,298
Location
india
Activity points
3,597
u wanna place all blocks in hier-.
in partitionally phase u can do it.
i saw regarding that in Demosondemand once.
 

dynamicdude

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 15, 2005
Messages
47
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
India
Activity points
1,855
What about using the Force keep command? Did you use it?
 

au_sun

Full Member level 2
Joined
Aug 5, 2004
Messages
147
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,184
aravind, i want to keep only the netlist as such and no separate partition required in the floorplan,

dynamicdude, i tried using "force keep -content" command, but the problem is , in the layout, the pins belonging to the "kept" netlist are not connected, they are open in the layout,

so is there any other way to do "dont_touch" option in Magam
 

leeenghan

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
118
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,333
Hi,

Hope this exmaple help. It force keep all the cell in instance core/clk.

set keepList [ data find $m core/clk/* -type cell ]
foreach keepItem $keepList {
force keep $keepItem
}


Regards,
Eng Han
 

wadaye

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
213
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,906
Hi au_sun,

Just hide them.

Hiding a model prevents that single model from being used.
Hiding an entity prevents all the models within the entity from being used.

The command is:

force hide entity | model

Example:

force hide $l/AND5

force hide $l/AND5/AND5X4
 

hiben

Newbie level 3
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,310
Hi , I think the method of leeenghan is correct
 

xworld2008

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 13, 2002
Messages
230
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
14
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,801
hi au_sun,

your meaning is just keep hierarchy for one block in netlist? you can using

force maintain
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top