Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to design IC test pad

Status
Not open for further replies.

wangkes9

Member level 2
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
46
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,620
I have brought a wirebond machine recently. So I want to set some pad for test
in my newly-designed chip, this chip is only for research.

So can I ignore the ESD part of the IO ? only metal lay and pad layer. Of course, when I do test , I will do my best to prevent the static electronic and limit the supply voltage in a permitted range.

I want to know whether the chip will be damaged easily if I design and test like this without ESD and protection IO circuit? Thanks.
 

zhongdg

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
59
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,537
I think you should to have ESD protection for the static electronic caused by test equipment. It can only waste a little area. Why not add ESD protecion?
 

wangkes9

Member level 2
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
46
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,620
I have used some standard analog IO given by faundry.

The pad area is 75*75um^2, and the other part including ESD is 75*300um^2.
So I want to take out it.

Can you introduce me a simple ESD architecture.
 

prcken

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Nov 1, 2006
Messages
420
Helped
41
Reputation
82
Reaction score
37
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Shanghai
Activity points
4,061
ESD is not protable for different process
i think you should include ESD protection device for your test chip, although you will not do ESD testing.
but you can find if there is ESD induced effect in your core ckt or not
 

walker5678

Full Member level 3
Joined
May 17, 2006
Messages
179
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,500
Maybe just place two diode as ESD protection. The area of the diode should be large enough.
 

jecyhale

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
403
Helped
54
Reputation
108
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
China
Activity points
3,001
You'd better use the ESD, but use a small diode ESD.
I is easy to design.
 

randell_xtian

Full Member level 4
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
203
Helped
28
Reputation
56
Reaction score
15
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Philippines
Activity points
2,667
always engaged the ESD as a part of precaution in designing an IC. it serves a vital role in protecting even in testing the IC.
 

oxplorer

Newbie level 6
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
13
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,330
it's ok without esd but be careful
 

randell_xtian

Full Member level 4
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
203
Helped
28
Reputation
56
Reaction score
15
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Philippines
Activity points
2,667
hu? without the ESD, the IC will have a static voltage if you handle it with bare hand. 25kV would cause a serious damage to your IC. think of it.!

randell_xtian
:D:D:D:D
 

ESDSolutions

Member level 2
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
52
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Tokyo, Japan
Activity points
1,983
Can you provide further details about your query?

- Do you design in 130nm technology or smaller node? Starting from 130nm ESD protection concepts are getting more complex and core elements are extremely sensitive to ESD.

- What kind of devices are connected to the pad? If these are core devices without ESD guidelines applied (see foundry Design rule manual) then you should expect a low yield.

- Are you going to package the samples before making measurements. Most assembly houses will not guarantee yield on the bonding if no on-chip ESD is provided

- Are you worried for the area of for the capacitance? Does you IO need >500MHz operation? Then you need to worry about parasitic capacitance.

Get in touch with the foundry or its preferred ESD partner when you have answered positive on 3 of the 4 questions. In other cases just use the pad provided. Make sure you include a ESD pad for the Vdd/Vss pads as this is necassary to protect the core of your IC.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top