Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to design an ADC circuit with an external sampled signal

Status
Not open for further replies.

nadd

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,

I'm very new to designing a circuit. So, I need some help.

I need to design an ADC for an external, sampled, single-ended signal. The frequency is 1 Mhz, and desired speed is at least 4msps and the resolution is at least 14 bits.
I checked ADC chips and found LTC2314-14 to use. But, LTC2314-14 has inputs for S/H, and my input signal is already sampled. Would it be a problem? (LTC2314-14 Datasheet: https://www.mouser.com/datasheet/2/609/231414fa-2954440.pdf )

Also, I found ADS1605, this one has differential input, so will I need a single-ended to differential converter? (ADS1605 Datasheet: https://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/ads1605.pdf?ts=1664705456913 )

If there are any different ADC chips that you would recommend, please let me know. (Preferably, easy to solder). Also, which additional components should I use in my design?

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

The frequency is 1 Mhz, and desired speed is at least 4msps and the resolution is at least 14 bits.
1MHz: Just to be sure: You know that if we talk about "upper frequency" of an ADC, we mean "sine waveform".
BTW: 1MHz with 14Bit resolution is one thing...
But for 1MHz with 14 bit precision you need a lot of experience.
(I mean: If you don´t need 14 bit precision, why the need for 14 bit resolution? You know the difference between resolution, precision and accuracy?)

what do you mean with "my input signal is already sampled"?