Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] How to Design a Digital Camera?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mekitron

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello All

I am an engineering student and learning about microcontrollers these days. I am also hobbyist. I go advance than class. I want to design a digital camera myself to understand its functionality and properties (in future I want to go through with robotics). I want to design it using CPU: 328C based on 8051 MCU and CCD: OV7411.

Any one may help me here, to tell me how I start the schematic design?

Selection of these ICs is okay or not?

I want to go through Assembly Programming, will it be okay and how long it will take me to work on it?

Thank you.

The OV7411 is not a "digital" camera - it has an analogue output. I also suspect it is obsolete (I cannot find it on Omnivision's web site) You don't say what you want to do with the camera so it is difficult to comment on the suitability of the microcontroller. Normally I would expect a CPLD or FPGA to be necessary to capture and manipulate camera data, not a microcontroller, although you can capture data with some RAM and discrete digital logic.

Keith

Keith,

Thank you very much for your reply.
I just want to learn how a digital camera works that's why I want to design it myself. I want my final output to capture one photo at least. Nothing else! Furthermore, I want to know how to start its schematic and what is essential to do.

Thank you.