Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to define wave port in HFSS

Status
Not open for further replies.

xbtxbt

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
define a port

I'm a freshman in RF design.I really wonder what's the difference of various ports.I have studied the help file,but still confused! Can you give some definite article about the mave port definition! TKS!

hfss waveport calibration

Don't worry, this question is asked repeatedly by people new to HFSS.

Here is the definition:

Assuming the structure is a simple two-ports microstrip line structure. So it has 3 layers, the top being the stripline, the middle being the substrate and the bottom being the ground plane. The port should be large enough to accommomdate field pattern of the TEM microstrip mode. Ansoft recommends that the port be 5 to 10 times as wide as the width of the trace and 5 times as high as the thickness of the substrate.

If the stripline is 5 mm wide, so let's make the port 30 mm wide. The dielectric is 1.6 mm thick, so let's make the port 8 mm high. Furthermore, one edge of the port (i.e. the bottom edge) should coincide with the ground plane. Of course, center the stripline along the width the port.

Hope this help!

hfss lumped wave port internal face

Important information about waveports in HFSS!
Characteristics
-Wave ports solve actual field distributions for one or more propagating or non-propagating Modes