Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to decide what components to place in a design ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dp_ee

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

Can any one recommend me a book or other reference that teaches about designing all kinds of circuit e.g. pci cards, backplanes, routers, etc... at the beginner level.

I would like to know how people decide what capacitors, inductors, resistors to place...where and why. Basically, I wanna be able to look at a motherboard or any circuit board and determine why the original designers chose such components.

I am an EE student therefore I am aware of basic circuit theory, signal processing, etc. Unfortunately, thus far, I have not been taught of how to build anything useful i school.

Thanks

Re: How to design?

Hi,

Can any one recommend me a book or other reference that teaches about designing all kinds of circuit e.g. pci cards, backplanes, routers, etc... at the beginner level.

I would like to know how people decide what capacitors, inductors, resistors to place...where and why. Basically, I wanna be able to look at a motherboard or any circuit board and determine why the original designers chose such components.

I am an EE student therefore I am aware of basic circuit theory, signal processing, etc. Unfortunately, thus far, I have not been taught of how to build anything useful i school.

Thanks