Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to deal with high fanout net?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lailiya

Newbie level 6
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Shanghai, China
Activity points
150
how to deal the high fanout

hi, in my design, i find much delay spent on interconnect delay, especially on high fanout net. im cofused that where can i deal with these nets, in my verilog soruce file, or during sythesis, or during place/route. please give ur options, thanks! : :lol:
 

tlihu

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
336
Helped
19
Reputation
42
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,258
astro fanout

You can insert buffers.
 

sandusty

Member level 5
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
89
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
910
astro high fanout synthesis

check your synthesis script:
1. have you assigned timing, clock, reset correctly
2. have you put the fanout constrains
3. have you put any net dont_touch
4. resynthesis again
5. some of the high fanout nets should be fixed in apr
 

eexuke

Full Member level 4
Joined
Mar 25, 2004
Messages
196
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,934
Most of the back-end design tools can help you to solve this problem.Physical compiler and Astro can automatically detect and insert buffers on these high fanout nets to build high fanout trees.
Refer to PC & Astro user guide to get these command or you can type "help *fanout*" in shell.
 

elvishbow_zhl

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Apr 17, 2004
Messages
18
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
162
In my experience, if I meet high fanout net:
During synthesis set_dont_touch_network and set_false_path to it.
all the work will be done in Layout tool:there are special command for high fan-out net just as CTS
 

zyphor

Full Member level 1
Joined
Nov 22, 2003
Messages
97
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
816
I think Astro can handle it perfect. This issue depends deeply with the layout so you can let Astro help you
 

crystal

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 12, 2003
Messages
117
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,008
Another option where you can control the numbers of fanout is in synthesis level. You can tell synthesis tool (i.e DC) to set a value for the max_fanout.

Example:
dc_shell-t > set_max_fanout ##
 

    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

eternal_nan

Full Member level 3
Joined
Mar 10, 2003
Messages
156
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Location
eternity
Activity points
1,412
Hi,

Sometimes it makes sense to not buffer up a net
during synthesis, but rather to leave it for layout
and then use a clock tree insertion tool to buffer it.
I have seen this option excercised for scan enable
signals and async. reset trees.
 

lailiya

Newbie level 6
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Shanghai, China
Activity points
150
yes, i try to buffer a general high fanout net after placement in Physical Compiler, i use command create_buffer_tree, but it use too many buffers, even include delay cells, im confused about this result, whether should i buffer up high fanout net during layout?
 

gerade

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 4, 2004
Messages
109
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
the hole eletron left behind
Activity points
1,014
crystal said:
Another option where you can control the numbers of fanout is in synthesis level. You can tell synthesis tool (i.e DC) to set a value for the max_fanout.

Example:
dc_shell-t > set_max_fanout ##

set_max_fanout $number of fanout permitted,

for the network that will dealed during P&R, better set_dont_touch and set_ideal_network
 

tom123

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
116
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,338
you can synthesize high fanout nets into buffer tree during place & route stage.



lailiya said:
hi, in my design, i find much delay spent on interconnect delay, especially on high fanout net. im cofused that where can i deal with these nets, in my verilog soruce file, or during sythesis, or during place/route. please give ur options, thanks! : :lol:
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top