Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to create an instance using skill language in cadence

Status
Not open for further replies.

raju

Newbie level 6
Joined
Apr 15, 2004
Messages
13
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
152
dbcreateinst

How to create an instance using skill languahe in CADENCE, say NMOS.

I have seen the syntax for creating instance

dbCreateInst( d_cellView d_master t_name l_point t_orient [ x_numInst]
)

To be specific what should I enter for d_master.

Also how can we edit the parameters like width and length of nmos

thanks
 

hqqh

Full Member level 4
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Messages
195
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,602
cadence skill place instance

Hi,
as i know lenght and width are CDF parameter. you need the instance ID of the device
- instId=nth(3 cvId~>instances) --> you will get the fourth element from the instance list from the schematic with the cvId
then you need the cdfId for this instance
- cdfId=cdfGetInstCDF(instId)
with cdfId~>parameters you can access the device parameters. you have to browse the parameter list and you will find the necessary parameter.

for your first question:
i assume, that you will need the master cellview ID. this is the ID from the device you want to place (library name -> nmos -> symbol). i think you can get it with:
masterId=dbOpenCellViewByType("library" "cell" "cellview")

i hope this will help you.
greetings,
hqqh
 
  • Like
Reactions: ydz

    ydz

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

raju

Newbie level 6
Joined
Apr 15, 2004
Messages
13
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
152
cdfgetinstcdf

hqqh said:
with cdfId~>parameters you can access the device parameters. you have to browse the parameter list and you will find the necessary parameter.

hqqh

with cdfId~>parameters it give the ids of the different parameters. Is there a way to get the paramers by name. And also how to change the parameter values.

Thank you very much for your help.

This forum has someone to answer any questions. I wish I had known this long time back.

thanks
raju
 

Hughes

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 10, 2003
Messages
717
Helped
113
Reputation
226
Reaction score
25
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,984
cadence skill instance

raju said:
How to create an instance using skill languahe in CADENCE, say NMOS.

I have seen the syntax for creating instance

dbCreateInst( d_cellView d_master t_name l_point t_orient [ x_numInst]
)

To be specific what should I enter for d_master.

Also how can we edit the parameters like width and length of nmos

thanks

d_master=dbOpenCellViewByType("analogLib" "nmos" "symbol")
To modify the parameters, you may use the following statements,
d_inst~>w="10u"
d_inst~>l="2u"
Where w and l are the parameters' name and can be found from CDF Edit Form. d_inst is the instance's dbId, which can be the return value of dbCreateInst, or an element of geGetSelSet(), or an element of d_cellViewId~>instances, or ...
 

ifang

Newbie level 1
Joined
Feb 4, 2005
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
8
skill place instance

help me please!
how can I mirror the instance when I use dbCreateInst ?
 

onenamedone555

Newbie level 4
Joined
Feb 24, 2005
Messages
6
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Location
SJ
Activity points
1,342
cdf parameter cadence

t_orient = "MX" || "MY"

look in chapter 2 d/b access routines and examine the table for instance

it will have all the orientations as will the manual page for dbCreateInst
skilldesigner@yahoo.com
 
  • Like
Reactions: ydz

    ydz

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top