Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to count how many times a timer overflowed?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hobby_85

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey, Im new to microcontrollers so i apologize if the question is trivial.

Im using a 16f690 PIC and its timer to measure the time interval between two pins going high. The pins go high microseconds after each other.

So im using a 4mhz clock, with a prescalar of 16, meaning each count is 16us. So the timer overflows every 16us*255= 4.08 ms. (I think) Im still new to microcontrollers. Am i right so far?

Now, what im doing is when the first signal comes in, i set the timer register to 0, and when the second signal comes in, i use an interupt to read the timer register. So i get counts like 2,50,135 and so on. However, i dont know if the timer has overflowed. a timer register of 50 could mean 256 +50 instead. Is there a way of know how many exact counts have passed?

thanks

Re: timer overflow

Hi,

You use the Tm0 Interrupt flag IntCon T0IF, every time it overflows you increment a separate counter.

You could possibly use the Capture Compare Module - CCP instead.

hobby_85

Helpful Answer Positive Rating

You can increment a variable whenever the timer overflows.
--
Amr

hobby_85

Hey, i am using the CCP function to detect the second HIGH. because im using a 16f690, i only have one CCP.

I am getting some kind of value, but theres alot of fluctuation, and im not sure if im using the timer right. below is a list of values im getting: