Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to connect to lcd 16x2

Status
Not open for further replies.

iVenki

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I know that lcd 16x2 has 16 pins to which we have to give the connections.

My problem is that I don't know to give the connections. I see 16 holes near the label JHD 162A but I don't know how to give the connections because I am new to lcd 16 x 2. i.e. How do you connect to these holes as I have never done connections through holes before.

I am clear with the circuit diagram. I have no problem with that.

Please help me

thanks in advance.

you can either solder a ribbon cable

GreyRibbonCable.jpg

or I prefer a pin header
HEADS.jpg

Alex

Thanks. I saw the same thing in that image of lcd 16 x 2. I am going to use pin header. Okay. How do you connect pin header? Do you solder it or give connections directly?

solder the pins on the pcb and solder female housing for these headers on the LCD pins...

other way is to solder the shorter end of header pins to PCB , and longer end of pins to lcd... but you cannot remove or replace if it goes bad....

if you use male and female pins then you can remove it from the board.........

Reactions: pawan5

pawan5

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
You can solder it if you want but it would be better to use a female header which can be easily disconnected.
FHEADS.jpg
It would also make it possible to easily connect the LCD to other MCU boards

Alex

P.S I usually use a cable between the mcu board and LCD (headers at the end of the cable) to be able to have a distance between them