Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to connect external crystal oscillator for PIC 16F630

Status
Not open for further replies.

srevish

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear Sir,

I want to connect external oscillator to my PIC16F630 IC, can any one guide me how to interface how to interface it in the hardware and should it required any changes in the software.

I am quite new to this electronic world, your reply will be very valuable for me.

thanks in advance,,

you connect one terminal across pin #2 of the pic, and the other across pin #3 of the pic

- - - Updated - - -

Don't forget to branch at each terminal a 22pF capacitor, and group the extremities of the two capacitors to the GND

- - - Updated - - -

As for the software, what language are you using?

Attachments

• pic.jpg
    pic.jpg
    18.4 KB · Views: 124

you connect one terminal across pin #2 of the pic, and the other across pin #3 of the pic

- - - Updated - - -

Don't forget to branch at each terminal a 22pF capacitor, and group the extremities of the two capacitors to the GND

- - - Updated - - -

As for the software, what language are you using?

I am using C language, should I have enable anything in the program ?

I believe KhaledOsmani might have misinterpreted your request (or I did). His answer will work if you are using a crystal with the internal oscillator circuit of the PIC16F630. If I read your question correctly, you want to connect an external oscillator where the clock is generated outside of the PIC. If that is the case, connect the clock output to the CLKIN (pin 2) of the PIC.