Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to connect 2 h-bridges in parallel? L293 h-bridge driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

kot_b

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Messages
103
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Latvia
Activity points
696
L293 question

Hi!
L293- quad h-bridge driver. How do you think can i connectc two h-bridges parallel?
 

Beepster

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
118
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
unknown
Activity points
787
L293 question

Big danger of timing error, one driver high, one low.
You could connect them using 2-? ohm resistors from the output of each driver to limit fault current.
 

JFDuval

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
27
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Québec
Activity points
225
Re: L293 question

Hello!

The easiest way is to stack to or more ICs together.
 

kot_b

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Messages
103
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Latvia
Activity points
696
L293 question

But if i remove enable, than setup control inputs. Wait for max transition and setup time, and than set enable high?
 

nicleo

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
661
Helped
66
Reputation
132
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
7,153
Re: L293 question

kot_b said:
But if i remove enable, than setup control inputs. Wait for max transition and setup time, and than set enable high?
If you can make sure the switching timing and sequence are correct, then it should be OK. One of the driver might be loaded higher compared to other as two drivers, even both from the same IC, are never 100% identical.
 

glenjoy

Banned
Joined
Jan 1, 2004
Messages
963
Helped
72
Reputation
146
Reaction score
20
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Philippines
Activity points
0
L293 question

Even you have same timing, the output voltages can be different and destructive on the loaded IC.

Better if you want a higher current, use a different IC or boost the current by using a power transistor or another highpower constant current sourcing IC.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top