Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[General] How to choose MCU

Status
Not open for further replies.

erdem.simsek

Newbie level 5
Joined
Aug 6, 2015
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
85
Hi everyone ,
I am in a blind alley , I do not know what i should do
My topic is not releated to which mcu is best , it is releated to how we should choice correct mcu

I am working on robotic for one years , I have some attend to join robotic competition .
Every mcu has different proreprty . High clock frequency , low power consumption , number of special pin (uart,i2c etc)
I used Arduino on my robot and They are not stable .(Sometimes fine , sometimes bad)
I used PIC , MSP430 , CC430 before .I am trying to learn ARM
PIC is cheap , MSP consume very low power , ARM has huge clock speed

Such as in my robot There are 8 analog input pin ,4 pwm output ,2 digital output pin . For more accurate result , Need higher clock frequency but How much ?
Maybe , I am thinking inside the box , because there are alot of external factor for high performance . I released that The coding has huge important position when i used PID feedback algortihm

Briefly, which criterion should i consider when choice mcu ?

Thanks for your help
 

srizbf

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
1,995
Helped
417
Reputation
840
Reaction score
328
Trophy points
1,363
Activity points
10,985
....
For more accurate result , Need higher clock frequency but How much ?...

that cannot be.

first you write,
*what are your requirements.?
*what are the controllers that meets them?

*check their availability and cost.
*in addition , you should survey on the tools for that controller u have chosen.
*what is its(tools) cost ?(free or other)

*make a judicious choice on the controller based on your requirement and not on other factors.
 

erdem.simsek

Newbie level 5
Joined
Aug 6, 2015
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
85
What is the role of clock speed in robotic ? I know something but I am not competent .
i am student because of that ,i do not have huge budget . It is nearly 100 dollars per robot
I am using QTR-8A Reflectance Sensor , L298N motor driver
 

srizbf

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
1,995
Helped
417
Reputation
840
Reaction score
328
Trophy points
1,363
Activity points
10,985
'clock' of the controller specify how fast the instructions are executed.

may be , you are mixing manythings and assume that high clock means high accuracy.
 

andre_teprom

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
9,252
Helped
1,151
Reputation
2,321
Reaction score
1,133
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Brazil
Activity points
53,864
In general the ARM-based architectures due to its 32bit data bus, it can comfortably attend to the most varied applications related to general processing and PID control. If you don’t have enough knowing to determine precisely the time requirements of the design, I strongly recommend you consider using this. Concerning to the peripherals, you can make a search either on manufacturer’s webpage or suppliers to find someone that can fit to the amount of built-in hardware modules that you need.
 

erdem.simsek

Newbie level 5
Joined
Aug 6, 2015
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
85
Thank you for your interest ,
Arm takes my attention so much , Probably i used ARM and TI some products
Which arm series is suitable for new to arm ?
According to me , ARM Cortex-M4
 

crawler009

Newbie level 1
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,286
Maybe the frdm-kl46z from freescale could be something for you.
If you are using it for a Robot, it may have intersting Features for you, like accelerometer,
magnetometer, light sensor. The proc is a arm0, but depending on what you want to do it should be fast enough for a lot of applications. And it consumes very little power.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top