Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to choose a specific PIC ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

weeyndha

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
How to choose PIC?

Hi all,

I'm new to PIC. I'm very confuse on how to choose PIC variant. There're so many type of it, all with its features. Please tell me how to choose one. Thanks

Regards

How to choose PIC?

Go for the one that has features that will be useful for you.

In learning PIC, think first of the application you want to apply PIC. Because you are a beginner for PIC, you need an I/O function so at least you can practice controlling the Digital I/O ports. Then consider also a UART for interfacing the PIC to a PC, and later the Analog inputs so at least you have a built-in Comparator inside.

Consider also your programmer if it can support your desired chip.

For now, I can advise of using the PIC16F628 microcontroller, at least you can maximize its, 16 I/O by disabling the external oscillator and the MCLR line.

Glenjoy

Re: How to choose PIC?

weeyndha said:
Hi all,

I'm new to PIC. I'm very confuse on how to choose PIC variant. There're so many type of it, all with its features. Please tell me how to choose one. Thanks

Regards

If you want to use a high quality C compiler then you can choose the 18 series PICs

i dont think he is asking about C compilers!

i would agree with glenjoy. the PIC16F628 is the best choice for a starter. lots of I/O, memory and functionality in a small and cheap package!

and for a great series of tutorials based on the PIC16F628 go to http://www.winpicprog.co.uk

weeyndha said:
Hi all,

Regards