Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How it is possible to avoid false switching in matix display?

Status
Not open for further replies.

padma

Newbie level 6
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,368
hi,

I am designing 16x96 matrix display using pic micro controller ,here tlc5925 is used to drive the rows .But when i continuously enables rows and switching columns,exact character get displayed along with near by pixels .how can i avoid these false switching of pixels.can any one suggest me a better idea ,it will be more helpful for further development of my project.

Thanks.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,660
Helped
14,075
Reputation
28,407
Reaction score
12,742
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
276,891
Neighbour pixels can be dimly lit, if the multiplex frequency is rather high and the finite switching time of drivers isn't considered. You can avoid this effect, if you change the control sequence, e.g disable the column drive, change the row drive and enable the column drive again.
 

vinodstanur

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Messages
750
Helped
114
Reputation
234
Reaction score
114
Trophy points
1,333
Location
Kerala (INDIA)
Activity points
7,049
hi,

I am designing 16x96 matrix display using pic micro controller ,here tlc5925 is used to drive the rows .But when i continuously enables rows and switching columns,exact character get displayed along with near by pixels .how can i avoid these false switching of pixels.can any one suggest me a better idea ,it will be more helpful for further development of my project.

Thanks.
when u r switching a ROW, just before that, make the LEDs OFF. Just after making ledS off AND if U r switching row then in the new row, the trace of old row values will not be seen.After switching the row, just activate the column values. {{{It happens because u r changing the row and then only changing the column values. So for a very few clock cycles ,the old column values are same for the new row!!}}}
 
Last edited:

padma

Newbie level 6
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,368
Thanks for all valid replies,in my coding i have changed the multiplexing of rows but i am not satisfied with the result.


here with I am adding my code,for(7X96) matrix display
//h/w pins
tlcoe, tlclatch,tlcinput,tlcclk,
p0,//drives each row
/*********************/

//variables
int rowselect,rowtimes,column ,temp,eight=8;
char seg1[96];//charactor buffer.


tlcoe=0;//tlc output pin enabled
rowselect=1;//rowselect variable initialized as 1
rowtimes=1;//variable specifies no.of rows
NXTROW:column =0;
tlclatch=0; // tlc latch pin
SHL1: temp = seg1[column ]&rowselect;
output_tlc(temp);//subroutine which load row data
column++;
if(column <96){goto SHL1;}
tlcoe=1; //tlc output pin disabled
p0=0; //port0 cleared
tlclatch=1; //tlc latch pin enabled to load row value
tlcoe=0; //tlc output pin enabled
p0 = rowselect;//corresponding row enabled
rowselect = rowselect<<1;
rowtimes++;

if(rowtimes<eight){goto NXTROW;}

/*************/

void output_tlc(int datain)
{

if(datain==0){tlcinput=0;}//input to tlc
else{tlcinput=1;}
tlcclk=1;tlcclk=0;//cloch to tlc

}



can any one help me to find out the mistake in my code?
 

millwood

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jul 2, 2009
Messages
734
Helped
80
Reputation
164
Reaction score
35
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
5,088
i am not satisfied with the result.
because of what?

for all we know, you could just be an extremely picky person and nothing would have satisfied you.

you need help so you need to be very specific as to where exactly you want us to help you. the fact that you are unhappy with your design / code adds absolutely zero understanding and contributes nothing to solving your problem, other than adding more confusion.
 

padma

Newbie level 6
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,368
sir,

in my design ,i am following row multiplexing .Here initially all row and columns disabled after that column values loaded then row enabled .before enabling each row i am clearing the port(dedicated to row ).still some unwanted pixels glows .can you help me to find out where i made mistake ?is there any other way to do row multiplexing?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top