Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How is "10% reduction in drain current" criterion related to MOSFET failure rate?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AeroHeX

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
How is "10% reduction in drain current" criterion related to MOSFET failure rate?

Hi, all,

I am studying the MOSFET failure due to Hot-Carrier Injection, and saw this criterion mentioned in all kinds of papers, but none gives the reason.

Is the MOSFET just considered as "bad" or "not-working" once reached this 10% reduction in drain current? Or, is this 10% reduction in Id will cause a certain failure rate (like a three sigma point? or one sigma? or some other meaning?) Or, more specifically, if an NFET in a digital logic gate circuit reaches the 10% reduction in Id, the circuit should still work till real breakdown happens, right?

Thank you very much for your time and answer!

Re: How is "10% reduction in drain current" criterion related to MOSFET failure rate?

I guess this rather arbitrarily looking "10% reduction in Id" limit concerns devices working in analog circuits, where such a current decrease presumably would mean "loss of intended/guaranteed accuracy" or even "loss of functionality" -- no direct relation to drop-out sigma failure rates.

But: which analog designer would risk HCI current biasing?

Re: How is "10% reduction in drain current" criterion related to MOSFET failure rate?