Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How does a D-FF function?

Status
Not open for further replies.

azurenel

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I'm really dumb when it comes to electronic devices.To make matters worse,I have this project concerning the use of 3 D-FF components.Plus,everything I'm learning is in Japanese(I'm a foreign student in Japan,furthering studies under Electronic Control Engineering).

At the moment,I'm desperately trying my best to understand the Japanese language plus learn new subjects such as Electronic Circuits,Electrical Circuits and so on.So,if there's anyone there who can give me some help understanding,I'd really appreciate it!

Like any FF, It depends on its' truth table for its' function.

Usually D-FF's are clocked. The main thing is the output usually follows the input after its' clocked.

A standard truth table is...

D__Q__|Q+1 (output)
---------------
0__0____0
0__1____0
1__0____1
1__1____1

As you can see, If D is high Q+1 (the +1 = after clock) is high.

D-FF's are usually used as latches. but they usually used in Johnson and Ring counters.

You should be able to find some books about FF's. They are usually in digital designs or applications type books.

Hope this helps out in getting you started.
wa
P.S. Gambatte Kudasai. Nihon go wa watashi ni totemo muzukashi desu. :wink:

in cpld/fpga,
u can use dff to implement dividing frequency,
and Jitter-Eliminating circuit

Hi,
Ok seems like you really dont have much idea about things...so initially I will start it, with the basics..