Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How do I learn about digital signal processing to start my business?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kepiluna2

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am 30 years old. I have a Bachelors of Psychology. I've been working as a software engineer for 10 years. I would like to learn more about digital signal processing, synthesizers, and the mathematics of audio. Why? I would like to start my own company that writes and sells virtual instruments. I have a deep/expert understanding of software, but I am light on audio programming/mathematics.
I've finished Calculus I as part of my psychology degree. What options do I have, either formally or informally, to study and learn about the mathematics of digital signal processing? I am open to complete formal training (getting another bachelors in Mathematics) to complete informal training (reading books and making it happen on my own). I have lots of questions here -- for example, can an adult take classes at a university without enrolling in a degree program?
I know this is a broad question, but I'd like to get a general pulse on how somebody at my age, with my experience, with my goals, could proceed with his dream to start writing virtual instruments.
Thank you so much!

Calculus 1, 2, 3, 4 are only a small part of what you need. This requires a master's degree in electronics engineering with a specialization in microprocessors. Why do you think its so easy to understand this and start your own company?
--- Updated ---