Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How do I calculate the surge current?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mnfsoft

Newbie level 6
Joined
May 19, 2010
Messages
13
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Iraq
Activity points
1,359
Dear EDA board members,
How do I calculate the surge current of an A/C split unit type or window type so I can operate it using a generator, i.e. is there an equation to calculate it based on the steady state currnet? or a rule of thumb that I can use? or is it based on the BTU of the A/C? or the power rating?

Please I need to know because I am facing hell in Iraq and I have a 5,5KW max. generator and I am very afraid to operate the A/C on the generator I am afraid I may toast it!

MNFsoft
 

PCBWING

Banned
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
91
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Internet
Activity points
0
I think you should connect a reliable resistance load, to test.
 

    mnfsoft

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

srizbf

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
1,995
Helped
417
Reputation
840
Reaction score
328
Trophy points
1,363
Activity points
10,985
if you know the type of ac motor inside
you can approximate the surge current(only estimation).
based on normal current rating.

srizbf
19thmay2010

Added after 54 minutes:

the split types there are two varieties.(as far as i come across)
(i dont know what is in iraq)

a 1.5kw and 2 kw type .

since your generator is 5.5kw it will do for normal working.

as the fear is what will happen on starting the ac ,
the suggestion is to switch off all other loads in generator .
then switch on ac.
once it starts (in few seconds) , you can connect all other loads(upto maxmcapcity).

nothing will happen to genrtor.

srizbf
19thmay2010
 

    mnfsoft

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

mnfsoft

Newbie level 6
Joined
May 19, 2010
Messages
13
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Iraq
Activity points
1,359
Thanks a lot PCBWING but this is the transient current I guess I will need a recording type Ammeter which I never had the chance to use or hear about until when I was studying my M.Sc.

Thanks a lot srizbf but I will give you the specifications of the A/C it is a split unit VESTEL model no. D-24 BIO it is 24,000 BTU so that I do not have any further Information.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top